Skip to main content

Robin Adelson - Trade Association/Nonprofit Executive - Part 1

Read Part 1 of our REAL TALK interview with the official "voice of the children's publishing industry." 

Our Reviewers Choose Their Favorite YA Books of 2014

Fantasy, contemporary, memoir...you can find a little bit of everything on our reviewers "best of 2014" list! Be sure to add them to your TBR list.

The Remarkable True Story of an Olympian and War Hero

The Young Adult edition of Laura Hillenbrand's bestselling biography reveals "two extremes of human nature."

A Boy Transforms into the Infamous Whistling Jack in this Magical Escapade

Full of love, enchantment, friendship and battles, this young adult debut is perfect for fans of The Princess Bride.

Nominate Your Favorite Books of 2014 for the Teen Choice Book of the Year!

Vote before February 2nd and help pick the nominees for the Teen Choice Book of the Year! 

Features and Contests

Best of 2014 Lists

This is the time of year when “Best Of” lists are everywhere. Although we at Teenreads.com don’t have a “Best Of” list of our own, we’ve compiled a number of them for you here. See which of your top picks appear on these lists and which titles you feel should've been included but weren't. Perhaps you’ll even find some books to add to your reading list as we head into the new year!

 

Book-Themed Holidays

December is all about holidays! If you could invent a book-themed holiday, what would it be and how would you celebrate it? Click here to read our Teen Board's answers!
 

 

Winter/Spring 2015 Indies Introduce Debut Authors --- YA Titles

Two panels of booksellers chose the seven best YA titles written by debut authors coming out in the next season. Check them out here, and be sure to add them to your TBR list! 

 

YALSA 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults

YALSA selected the 98 best books published for young adults in the last year, and also made a top ten list. Click here to see the top ten, and click here to see the complete list.

Cool & New

Our December roundup includes the 16th book in Sara Shepard's bestselling Pretty Little Liars series and a harrowing adventure in the Marange diamond fields, DIAMOND BOY by Michael Williams.  

Side by Side

 

Read our Space Travel Side by Side, featuring Beck Nichols (LIFER) and Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner (THIS SHATTERED WORLD).

Latest Reviews

Now That You're Here by Amy K. Nichols - Young Adult Science Fiction
One minute Danny was running from the cops, and the next, he jolted awake in an unfamiliar body--his own, but different. Somehow, he's crossed into a parallel universe. Now his friends are his enemies, his parents are long dead, and studious Eevee is not the mysterious femme fatale he once kissed back home. Then again, this Eevee--a girl who'd rather land an internship at NASA than a date to the prom--may be his only hope of getting home. Eevee tells herself she's only helping him in the name of quantum physics, but there's something undeniably fascinating about this boy from another dimension . . . a boy who makes her question who she is, and who she might be in another place and time.

Whit and Wisty Allgood have fought and defeated their world's most pernicious threats: the evil dictator, The One Who Is The One, as well as his wicked father and son. But just as the heroic witch and wizard start to settle into their new roles in governance, a deadly crime wave grips their city, with all signs pointing to a magical mastermind every bit as powerful and heartless as The One. Now the siblings find themselves persecuted as the city turns against all those who possess magic. They're questioning everything, including each other and their abilities. Can they confront the citizens' growing hostility and their own doubts in time to face the new enemy barreling toward their gates?

Like Water on Stone by Dana Walright - Young Adult Historical Fiction
It is 1914, and the Ottoman Empire is crumbling into violence. Beyond Anatolia, in the Armenian Highlands, Shahen Donabedian dreams of going to New York. Sosi, his twin sister, never wants to leave her home, especially now that she is in love. At first, only Papa, who counts Turks and Kurds among his closest friends, stands in Shahen's way. But when the Ottoman pashas set in motion their plans to eliminate all Armenians, neither twin has a choice. After a horrifying attack leaves them orphaned, they flee into the mountains, carrying their little sister, Mariam. But the children are not alone. An eagle watches over them as they run at night and hide each day, making their way across mountain ridges and rivers red with blood.  
No Place to Fall by Jaye Robin Brown - Young Adult Fiction
Amber Vaughn is a good girl. She sings solos at church, babysits her nephew after school, and spends Friday nights hanging out at the house of her best friend, Devon. But when she learns about an audition at a prestigious arts school, Amber decides that her dream—to sing on bigger stages—could also be her ticket to a new life. Devon’s older brother, Will, helps Amber prepare for her one chance to try out. The more time Will and Amber spend together, the more complicated their relationship becomes . . . and Amber starts to wonder if she’s such a good girl, after all. Then, in an afternoon, the bottom drops out of her family’s world—and Amber is faced with an impossible choice between her promise as an artist and the people she loves. Amber always thought she knew what a good girl would do. But between right and wrong, there’s a whole world of possibilities.
Top Ten Clues You're Clueless by Liz Czukas - Young Adult Fiction
Top Five Things That Are Ruining Chloe's Day
 
5) Working the 6:30 a.m. shift at GoodFoods Market
 
4) Crashing a cart into a customer's car right in front of her snarky coworker Sammi
 
3) Trying to rock the "drowned rat" look after being caught in a snowstorm
 
2) Making zero progress with her crush, Tyson (see #3)
 
1) Being accused—along with her fellow teenage employees— of stealing upwards of $10,000
 
Chloe would rather be anywhere than locked in work jail (aka the break room) with five of her coworkers . . . even if one of them is Tyson. But if they can band together to clear their names, what looks like a total disaster might just make Chloe's list of Top Ten Best Moments.
On the Edge by Allison Van Diepen - Young Adult Fiction
Maddie Diaz never should have taken that shortcut through the park. If she hadn't, she wouldn't have seen two members of the Reyes gang attacking a homeless man. Now, as the only witness, she knows there's a target on her back. But when the Reyes jump her on the street, Maddie is protected by a second gang and their secretive leader, Lobo, who is determined to take down the Reyes himself. Lobo is mysterious and passionate, and Maddie begins to fall for him. But when they live this close to the edge, can their love survive?
Blackfin Sky by Kat Ellis - Fiction

When Skylar Rousseau falls from Blackfin Pier and drowns on her sixteenth birthday, the whole town goes into mourning - until she shows up three months later like nothing happened. Unravelling the mystery of those missing months takes Sky to the burned-out circus in the woods, where whispers of murder and kidnapping begin to reveal the town's secrets.

 In 1892, America was obsessed with a teenage murderess, but it wasn't her crime that shocked the nation—it was her motivation. Nineteen-year-old Alice Mitchell had planned to pass as a man in order to marry her seventeen-year-old fiancée Freda Ward, but when their love letters were discovered, they were forbidden from ever speaking again.

Rebels by Accident by Patricia Dunn - Young Adult Fiction
After attending her first high school party lands her in jail, Mariam thinks things can't possibly get worse. So when her parents send her to live with her grandmother in Cairo, she is sure her life is over. Her Sittu is Darth Vader's evil sister, and Mariam is convinced that the only sights she'll get to see in Egypt are the rooms in her grandmother's apartment. Then a girl named Asmaa calls the people of Egypt to protest against their president, and Mariam finds herself in the middle of a revolution, running from teargas and falling in love for the first time, and having her first kiss.

Jamey, an alleged high school student from a nearby town, has been pining after Perry from behind the computer screen for some time now. When Perry and her friend, Baby Girl, finally agree to meet Jamey face-to-face, they quickly realize he’s far from the shy high school boy they thought he was --- and they’ll do whatever is necessary to protect themselves.

Incommunicado by Randall Beth Platt - Young Adult Fiction

Just about everyone is incommunicado in the small, sleepy Oregon coastal town of Sea Park during winter. Until Pearl Harbor, that is, when it springs to patriotic life. But is Ruby Opal Pearl (a.k.a. Jewels) Stokes the only person to see what’s really happening here? Tommy Kiramoto, the one person in her life who has provided security, shelter, and a smidgeon of respect—and who owns the biggest resort on the coast—is now the cause of the town’s rage. Tommy’s Japanese ancestry makes him the prime target of an angry mob, not to mention he’s also rich, has a shady past, and everyone in town owes him money. As the town's patriotism blossoms into paranoia and turns violent, Jewels has to do something to protect Tommy from internment (or worse), even if that something is going up against the town and the government, not to mention the FBI. Thus begins a twelve-year-old girl’s war within a war.

Close by Erika Raskin - Fiction

Single-mom Kik Marcheson is doing the best she can. But effort doesn't seem to count for much in the parenting department. Her oldest daughter, Doone, is swimming in the deep end of adolescence. Casey, the middle-child slash good-girl is fraying along the edges and Tess, a quirky kindergartner, has installed an imaginary playmate in the family abode. When Doone falls in with the wrong crowd, a TV therapist offers to help. And things do start to look up. But only for a while.

What if you could tune your TV to the year 1963, and watch -- live? A new theme park attraction allows visitors to not only observe, but talk with the people of that turbulent decade. For 16-year-old Amy, it's the perfect escape from her own time -- an era she doesn't seem to fit in with. Things get complicated, however, when Amy falls for a 60s teenage boy on the bewitching TV screen. Trying to build a relationship across time proves maddening, especially while computers constantly bleep any language that might impact the future. Fortunately, Amy acquires a "magic clicker" which defeats this annoying restriction. But gaining the ability to speak freely comes with a heavy responsibility: Amy now has the power to alter history!
The Name of the Blade by Zoë Marriott - Youth Adult Fantasy/Supernatural

When Mio sneaks the family’s katana — a priceless ancestral sword —from her parents’ attic, she just wants to spice up a costume. But the katana is much more than a dusty antique. Awakening the power within the sword unleashes a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. But it also releases Shinobu, a fearless warrior boy, from the depths of time. He helps to protect Mio — and steals her heart. With creatures straight out of Japanese myths stalking her and her friends, Mio realizes that if she cannot keep the sword safe and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life . . . but the love of a lifetime.