Skip to main content

Enter for Your Chance to Win 1 of 5 Beach Bag Contest Packages

Summer is here and we're celebrating by giving away copies of each of our six featured titles from now until Monday, August 1st at noon ET!

Apply Now to Join Our 2016-2017 Teen Board

We are looking for 50 book-loving teens who are interested in joining our team!  Applications are due by 11:59 PM on Tuesday, July 12th.

Teenreads.com Talks to Catherine Egan, Author of JULIA VANISHES

Even a thief and a spy like Julia isn’t prepared for what awaits her in this new fantasy series about crime, betrayal and of course --- witches.

Check Out Our Books to Add to Your Guy-Brary Bookshelf!

This shelf offers a collection of books that feature male protagonists, male narrators and storylines that appeal to all genders!
 

Prepare to Be Cured by This Quirky Debut from Christian McKay Heidicker

Follow 16-year-old Jaxon in CURE FOR THE COMMON UNIVERSE to see if he can escape video game rehab in time to go on his first date!

Lizzie Stoller’s Life Changes Instantly in Jennifer Gilmore’s WE WERE NEVER HERE

When she suddenly collapses from a mysterious illness, Lizzie’s recovery leads her to forming a deep connection with volunteer Connor.

Features and Contests

ALA Best of Lists

YALSA recently announced some of their "best of" lists! Check them out here, along with the books they feature!
2016 Best Fiction for Young Adults 
2016 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers

 

June Teen Board Question
With the days rapidly getting longer and warmer, we at Teenreads have one very important thing on our minds: summer reading! We don't just mean the books you're assigned to read for school, but the ones you wait all year to enjoy just for the fun of it. With our sunglasses on and our sunblock applied, we asked our Teen Board Members about their summer reading plans, from treasured re-reads to books they've waited all year to read. Click here to check out their answers!

Cool & New

Our June roundup includes RELENTLESS by Tera Lynn Childs and Tracy Deebs; ESCAPE FROM ASYLUM by Madeleine Roux; and THE LONG GAME by Jennifer Lynn Barnes.

New in Paperback

 

In paperback titles this month we have A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES by Sarah J. Maas, WE ARE ALL MADE OF MOLECULES by Susin Nielsen, and SURVIVE THE NIGHT by Danielle Vega.

Latest Reviews

And I Darken by Kiersten White - Historical Fiction

Ever since she and her younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and taken to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada Dragwlya has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend --- and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

Run by Kody Keplinger - Young Adult Fiction

Bo Dickinson is a girl with a wild reputation, a deadbeat dad, and a mama who's not exactly sober most of the time. Agnes Atwood, on the other hand, has never gone on a date, never even stayed out past ten, and never broken any of her parents' overbearing rules. Despite everything, Bo and Agnes become best friends. So when Bo shows up in the middle of the night, with police sirens wailing in the distance, desperate to get out of town, Agnes doesn't hesitate to take off with her.

Your Presidential Fantasy Dream Team Written by Daniel O’Brien with illustrations by Winston Rowntree. - Nonfiction

What if a zombie apocalypse or a robot uprising threatened the nation and you had the power to recruit some of the nation’s finest presidents to help save the day? By studying the most successful squads in history, Daniel O’Brien has identified the perfect ingredients for a victorious team. Which president would you choose for: the Brain, the Brawn, the Moral Compass, the Loose Cannon, and the Roosevelt? Choose wisely --- the fate of the world is in your hands!


This electric cross-country thriller follows the game of cat and mouse between a girl on the run from a murder she witnessed --- or committed? --- and the boy who’s sent to kill her. Nicolette Holland is the girl everyone likes. Up for adventure. Loyal to a fault. And she’s pretty sure she can get away with anything...until a young woman is brutally murdered in the woods near Nicolette’s house. Which is why she has to disappear. Jack Manx has always been the stand-up guy with the killer last name. 
As Nicolette and Jack race to outsmart each other, tensions --- and attractions --- run high.
Before We Go Extinct by Karen Rivers - Young Adult Fiction

J.C., who goes by the nickname Sharky, has been having a hard time ever since his best friend died in front of him. He spends countless hours holed up in his room, obsessively watching documentaries about sharks and climate change --- and texting his dead friend. Hoping a change of location will help, Sharky’s mom sends him to visit his dad on a remote island in Canada. There, Sharky meets a girl who just may show him how to live --- and love --- again.

For Tara Krishnan, navigating Brierly, the academically rigorous prep school she attends on scholarship, feels overwhelming and impossible. Her junior year begins in the wake of a startling discovery: A message from an alternate Earth, light years away, is intercepted by NASA. This means that on another planet, there is another version of Tara, a Tara who could be living better, burning brighter, because of tiny differences in her choices. The world lights up with the knowledge of Terra Nova, the mirror planet, and Tara’s life on Earth begins to change. 

As much a moving memoir as it is an amusing pet manual, MISUNDERSTOOD is a unique nonfiction book for teens and tweens about domesticated rats in general and a wonderful rat named Iris in particular. Rachel Toor's text blends history and science with profiles of interesting people and autobiographical anecdotes as it joyfully sets the record straight about why this reviled creature is actually a most amazing species.

Life Before by Michele Bacon - Young Adult Fiction

Seventeen years is a long time to keep secrets, and Xander Fife has gotten very good at it. Everyone believes he has a normal life and a normal family. If he can just get through this summer, he'll start his real life in college with a clean slate --- no risk, no drama, no fear. Even better, his plans for summer are awesome: soccer, friends and an epic road trip. Xander is banking on some long nights with his girlfriend, Gretchen. Instead, however, graduation day brings terror. His family's secrets are thrust out into the open, and Xander must confront his greatest fear. Armed with a fake ID, cash, and a knife, Xander skips town and assumes a new identity. Hundreds of miles from home and in danger, one thing is clear: Xander's real life is already in progress and just getting through it isn't enough.

In the tradition of M. T. Anderson’s FEED and Scott Westerfeld’s UGLIES, UNPLUGGED is the first in a provocative and compelling new series from acclaimed author Donna Freitas. Humanity is split into a dying physical world for the poor and an extravagant virtual world for the wealthy. Years ago, Skylar Cruz crossed over to the App World for a chance at a better life, and her family stayed behind in the Real World. Now Skye is a virtual teenager, surrounded by glamorous apps and expensive downloads --- yet she’s never felt like she fits in, and all she wants is to see her mother and sister again. Skye is desperate and ready to risk everything to unplug from the App World. 
Most teens dream of visiting the City of Lights, but it feels more like a nightmare for Sophie Brooks. She and her brother are sent to Paris to spend the summer with their father, who left home a year ago without any explanation. As if his sudden abandonment weren't betrayal enough, he's about to remarry, and they’re expected to play nice with his soon-to-be wife and stepdaughter. The stepdaughter, Camille, agrees to show them around the city, but she makes it clear that she will do everything in her power to make Sophie miserable.
Worlds collide in Lindsey Klingele’s debut young adult novel, THE MARKED GIRL, an exciting fantasy tale turned upside down. When Cedric, crowned prince of Caelum, and his fellow royal friends find themselves stranded in modern-day LA via a magical portal and an evil traitor named Malquin, all they want to do is get home to Caelum --- soon. Then they meet Liv, a filmmaker foster girl who just wants to get out of the system and on with her life. As she and Cedric bond, they’ll discover that she’s more connected to his world than they ever could’ve imagined…and that finding home is no easy task.