Skip to main content

Enter for Your Chance to Win 1 of 5 Beach Bag Contest Packages

Summer is here and we're celebrating by giving away copies of each of our six featured titles from now until Monday, August 1st at noon ET!

Check Out Part 2 of Our Books to Add to Your Guy-Brary Bookshelf!

This shelf offers a collection of books releasing in July-August that feature male protagonists, male narrators and storylines that appeal to all!

Victoria Schwab Explores What It Means To Be A Monster In THIS SAVAGE SONG

Kate and August must choose whether to become heroes, villains, friends or enemies in a city divided by war and plagued by monsters.

Prepare to Laugh, Cry and Cringe Your Way Through Katie Kennedy’s Debut

LEARNING TO SWEAR IN AMERICA follows Yuri, a teen who has been recruited by NASA to help stop an asteroid from hitting Earth.

THE MEMORY BOOK by Lara Avery is a Novel You'll Never Forget

Sammy McCoy has big plans for her future, but a rare disorder that will take her memories gets in the way, and so the memory book is born.

Teenreads.com Talks to Catherine Egan, Author of JULIA VANISHES

Even a thief and a spy like Julia isn’t prepared for what awaits her in this new fantasy series about crime, betrayal and of course --- witches.

Features and Contests

ALA Best of Lists

YALSA recently announced some of their "best of" lists! Check them out here, along with the books they feature!
2016 Best Fiction for Young Adults 
2016 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers

 

July Teen Board Question
This July we're celebrating the release of HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD, the newest addition to J. K. Rowling's beloved Harry Potter canon. We've been preparing for this day since we turned the last page of HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS, but now it's crunchtime. With the publication date rapidly approaching, we asked our Teen Board Members how they're gearing up for the release --- or, if they're not huge fans, how they celebrated new releases of other favorite series. Click here to check out their answers!

Cool & New

Our July roundup includes THE MERCILESS II: The Exorcism of Sofia Flores by Danielle Vega, THE SHADOW HOUR by Melissa Grey, and THE SIEGE by Mark Alpert.

New in Paperback

 

In paperback titles this month we have SUICIDE NOTES FROM BEAUTIFUL GIRLS by Lynn Weingarten, COURT OF FIVES by Kate Elliott, NEVER ALWAYS SOMETIMES by Adi Alsaid.

Latest Reviews

Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and almost immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

No Such Person by Caroline B. Cooney - Historical Fiction

Shortly after the Allerdons arrive at their cozy family cottage on the river, Lander meets and is smitten with a handsome young man, and they begin to date. But Miranda has a bad feeling about her perfect sister’s new boyfriend. And when the cops come knocking on her family’s front door, Miranda can’t help feeling that Lander’s boyfriend has something to do with it. The police tell Miranda and her family that Lander has been arrested. But Miranda doubts the supposedly solid evidence they say they have against her sister and decides to dig deeper.

Gemini by Sonya Mukherjee - Young Adult Fiction

Seventeen-year-old conjoined twins Clara and Hailey have lived in the same small town their entire lives --- no one stares at them anymore. But there are cracks in their quiet existence and they're slowly becoming more apparent. Clara and Hailey are at a crossroads. Clara wants to stay close to home, avoid all attention, and study the night sky. Hailey wants to travel the world, learn from great artists, and dance with mysterious boys. As high school graduation approaches, each twin must untangle her dreams from her sister's and figure out what it means to be her own person.

The third novel in Serena Valentino's (Fairest of All, Beast Within) Villains trilogy, featuring the story of the Little Mermaid from the perspective of the sea witch Ursula.

When Pierrot becomes an orphan, he must leave his home in Paris for a new life with his aunt Beatrix, a servant in a wealthy Austrian household. But this is no ordinary time, for it is 1935 and the Second World War is fast approaching; and this is no ordinary house, for this is the Berghof, the home of Adolf Hitler. Pierrot is quickly taken under Hitler's wing and thrown into an increasingly dangerous new world: a world of terror, secrets, and betrayal from which he may never be able to escape.

While spacing out in Chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds that someone has continued the lyrics on the desk, and added a message to her. Intrigue! Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters --- sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she's kind of falling for this letter writer. Only who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mystery, and juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can't always be spelled out...

Ivy Jensen survived the Dark House once, but can she make it out a second time? Two months have passed since Ivy narrowly escaped the Nightmare Elf's grip, but the memories of Parker, Natalie, Shayla, Frankie and Garth continue to haunt her. Their killer is still out there-somewhere. The police trail has gone cold, though, and it's up to Ivy to piece together the clues to find him.

What's your worst nightmare? For Ivy Jensen, it's the eyes of a killer that haunt her nights. For Parker Bradley, it's bloodthirsty sea serpents that slither in his sleep. And for seven essay contestants, it's their worst nightmares that win them an exclusive, behind-the-scenes look at director Justin Blake's latest, confidential projectIvy doesn't even like scary movies, but she's ready to face her real-world fears. Parker's sympathetic words and perfect smile help keep her spirits up...at least for now.

Twisted by Hannah Jayne - Suspense/Thriller

Bex has always been her daddy's little girl. After her mother left, it was just the two of them. Sure he spoiled her with clothes and jewelry, but what father doesn't dote on his daughter? Except Bex's dad is alleged to be a notorious serial killer. Dubbed "The Wife Collector" by the press, her father disappeared before he could stand trial. And Bex was left to deal with the taunts and rumors. Foster care is her one chance at starting over, starting fresh. When bodies start turning up in her new hometown, the police want to use her as bait to bring her father in for questioning.

The Season by Jonah Lisa Dyer and Stephen Dyer - Young Adult Romance

Megan McKnight is an expert at the three Rs of Texas (readin’, ridin’ and ropin’), but she’s not a girly girl. So when her Southern belle mother secretly enters her as a debutante, she’s furious. When Megan’s attitude puts her on probation, she has a month to prove she can ballroom dance, display impeccable manners and curtsy or she’ll disgrace her family. The perk of being a debutante is going to parties, and it’s at one of these lavish affairs where Megan meets Hank Waterhouse. If she didn’t have to contend with a backstabbing blonde and her surly boyfriend, being a deb might not be so bad after all. But then Megan becomes embroiled in a media-frenzy scandal and gets punched in the face by another girl. The season has officially begun…but the drama is just getting started.

Hasn't he lived long enough? Why not? I could take him like a thief in the night. This is how the Thief thinks. He serves death, the vacuum, the unknown. He's always waiting. Always there. Seventeen-year-old Nina Barrows knows all about the Thief. She's intimately familiar with his hunting methods: how he stalks and kills at random, how he disposes of his victims' bodies in an abandoned mine in the deepest, most desolate part of a desert. Now, for the first time, Nina has the chance to do something about the serial killer that no one else knows exists. With the help of her former best friend, Warren, she tracks the Thief two thousand miles, to his home turf-the deserts of New Mexico. But the man she meets there seems nothing like the brutal sociopath with whom she's had a disturbing connection her whole life.
Hunted down by a ruthless “cleaner” from the future, star-crossed lovers Eden and Ryan have been forced to travel a hundred years forward to 2123. Ryan has broken fundamental laws of time for them to be together, and now they face his trial and permanent imprisonment...and a life without each other. Eden knows that she must save Ryan, but he's under tight security. All Eden wants is Ryan, but is it possible to be together when it seems the whole universe is against them? Fans of Claudia Gray, Amie Kaufman, and Meagan Spooner will be swept away by this epic cross-century romance in which love bends the laws of time and reason.

Seventeen-year-old Cardinal has escaped the virus that ravaged his town, leaving its victims alive but without their memories. He chooses to remain in the quarantined zone, caring for a group of orphaned kids in a mountain camp with the help of the former brutal school bully, now transformed by the virus into his best friend. But then a strong-willed and mysterious young woman appears, and the closed-off world Cardinal has created begins to crumble.