Skip to main content

See the 5 Winners of Our Beach Bag Contest

Summer is here and we're celebrating with these fantastic featured titles --- read on to build your reading lists!

Return to Hogwarts with HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD

Although the play has only released in England, you can get the scoop with this Special Rehearsal Edition of the script!

Check Out Part 3 of Our Books to Add to Your Guy-Brary Bookshelf!

This shelf offers a collection of books releasing in September-October that feature male protagonists, male narrators and storylines that appeal to all!

Check Out Part 2 of Our Books to Add to Your Guy-Brary Bookshelf!

This shelf offers a collection of books releasing in July-August that feature male protagonists, male narrators and storylines that appeal to all!

Serena Valentino Continues her Villains Series with POOR UNFORTUNATE SOUL

Learn all about the sea witch Ursula's storied past in this fractured fairy tale that puts the villain at the forefront of the action.

THE SEASON Has Officially Begun...But The Drama Is Just Getting Started

From Jonah Lisa Dyer and Stephen Dyer, THE SEASON tells the story of Megan McKnight, who is forced to participate in the deb season.

Features and Contests

ALA Best of Lists

YALSA recently announced some of their "best of" lists! Check them out here, along with the books they feature!
2016 Best Fiction for Young Adults 
2016 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Readers

 

July Teen Board Question
This July we're celebrating the release of HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD, the newest addition to J. K. Rowling's beloved Harry Potter canon. We've been preparing for this day since we turned the last page of HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS, but now it's crunchtime. With the publication date rapidly approaching, we asked our Teen Board Members how they're gearing up for the release --- or, if they're not huge fans, how they celebrated new releases of other favorite series. Click here to check out their answers!

Cool & New

Our July roundup includes THE MERCILESS II: The Exorcism of Sofia Flores by Danielle Vega, THE SHADOW HOUR by Melissa Grey, and THE SIEGE by Mark Alpert.

New in Paperback

 

In paperback titles this month we have SUICIDE NOTES FROM BEAUTIFUL GIRLS by Lynn Weingarten, COURT OF FIVES by Kate Elliott, NEVER ALWAYS SOMETIMES by Adi Alsaid.

Latest Reviews

It is Clara who is desperate to enter the labyrinth and it is Clara who is bright, strong and fearless enough to take on any challenge. It is no surprise when she is chosen. But so is the girl who has always lived in her shadow. Together they enter. Within minutes, they are torn apart forever. Now the girl who has never left the city walls must fight to survive in a living nightmare, where one false turn with who to trust means a certain dead end.

All We Have Left by Wendy Mills - Historical Fiction

Sixteen-year-old Jesse is used to living with the echoes of the past. Her older brother died in the September 11th attacks, and her dad since has filled their home with anger and grief. When Jesse gets caught up with the wrong crowd, one momentary hate-fueled decision turns her life upside down. The only way to make amends is to face the past, starting Jesse on a journey that will reveal the truth about how her brother died. In 2001, 16-year-old Alia is proud to be Muslim. After being grounded for a stupid mistake, Alia decides to confront her father at his Manhattan office. When the planes collide into the Twin Towers, Alia is trapped inside one of the buildings. In the final hours, she meets a boy who will change everything for her as the flames rage around them...

Lana used to know what was real. That was before, when her life was small and quiet. Her golden stepbrother, Ben was alive. She could only dream about bonfiring with the populars. Their wooded island home was idyllic, she could tell truth from lies and Ben’s childhood stories were firmly in her imagination. Then came after. After has Lana boldly kissing her crush, jumping into the water from too high up, living with nerve and mischief. But after also has horrors, deaths that only make sense in fairy tales and terrors from a past Lana thought long forgotten. 
In this thrilling sequel to World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott's captivating young adult debut, a girl immersed in high-stakes competition holds the fate of a kingdom in her hands. Now a Challenger, Jessamy is moving up the ranks of the Fives --- the complex athletic contest favored by the lowliest Commoners and the loftiest Patrons alike. Pitted against far more formidable adversaries, success is Jes's only option, as her prize money is essential to keeping her hidden family alive. She leaps at the chance to tour the countryside and face more competitors, but then a fatal attack on her traveling party puts Jes at the center of the war that Lord Kalliarkos --- the prince she still loves --- is fighting against their country's enemies. 
Deep in the forest, four friends gather for a weekend of fun. Truth #1: Rob is thrilled about the weekend trip. It’s the perfect time for him to break out of his shell…to be the person he really, really wants to be. Truth #2: Liam, Rob’s boyfriend, is nothing short of perfect. He’s everything Rob could have wanted. They’re perfect together. Perfect. Truth #3: Mia has been Liam’s best friend for years…long before Rob came along. They get each other in a way Rob could never, will never, understand. Truth #4: Galen, Mia’s boyfriend, is sweet, handsome and incredibly charming. He’s the definition of a Golden Boy…even with the secrets up his sleeve. One of these truths is a lie…and not everyone will live to find out which one it is.
Running Girl by Simon Mason - Mystery/Thriller

Meet Garvie Smith. Highest IQ ever recorded at Marsh Academy. Lowest ever grades. What's the point? Life sucks. Nothing surprising ever happens. Until Chloe Dow's body is pulled from a pond. Garvie's ex-girlfriend. Inspector Singh is already on the case. Ambitious, uptight, methodical, he's determined to solve the mystery--and get promoted. He doesn't need any "assistance" from a notorious slacker.

Chelsea Duvay is so many things. Shes an avid musical lover, shes a gifted singer and she has the most perfect, beautiful feet. But no one ever notices that. All they notice is Chelseas weight. Daily, Chelsea endures endless comments about her appearance from well-meaning adults and cruel classmates. So she keeps to herself and just tries to make it through. Dont make waves. Dont draw attention. Thats how life is for Chelsea until a special class project pushes the energetic and incessantly social Melody into Chelseas world. As their unlikely friendship grows, Chelsea emerges from her isolated existence and she begins to find the confidence to enjoy life. 

Wax by Gina Damico - Fiction
Paraffin, Vermont, is home to the Grosholtz Candle Factory. There, seventeen-year-old Poppy finds something dark and unsettling: a room filled with dozens of startlingly lifelike wax sculptures. Later, she’s shocked when one of the figures --- a teenage boy who doesn’t seem to know what he is --- jumps naked and screaming out of the trunk of her car. Poppy wants to return him to the factory, but before she can, a fire destroys the mysterious workshop. With the help of the wax boy, who answers to the name Dud, Poppy tries to find out who was behind the fire. Along the way, she discovers that some of the townspeople are starting to look a little...waxy. Can they extinguish the evil plot? 
Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that’s perfect for fans of Julie Murphy’s DUMPLIN’ and Becky Albertalli’s SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA. Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.

Finley is used to being the glue that holds everyone together but that isn't landing her the high paying modeling jobs, which are what Finley needs if she is going to reopen her mother's dance studio. Enter Eddie. He's intense, driven and he completely charms Finley. The last thing she wants is another commitment, but when she's with Eddie, their chemistry takes over and she can let go of her responsibilities and just be. Except Eddie is hiding a secret. And when it surfaces, he and Finley are going to have to choose between their love for each other and everything else...