Skip to main content

Salman Rushdie


Salman Rushdie

Salman Rushdie is the author of twelve novels --- GRIMUS, MIDNIGHT’S CHILDREN (for which he won the Booker Prize and the Best of the Booker), SHAME, THE SATANIC VERSES, HAROUN AND THE SEA OF STORIES, THE MOOR’S LAST SIGH, THE GROUND BENEATH HER FEET, FURY, SHALIMAR THE CLOWN, THE ENCHANTRESS OF FLORENCE, LUKA AND THE FIRE OF LIFE and TWO YEARS EIGHT MONTHS AND TWENTY-EIGHT NIGHTS --- and one collection of short stories: EAST, WEST. He has also published four works of nonfiction --- JOSEPH ANTON, THE JAGUAR SMILE, IMAGINARY HOMELANDS and STEP ACROSS THIS LINE --- and co-edited two anthologies, MIRRORWORK and BEST AMERICAN SHORT STORIES 2008. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and a Distinguished Writer in Residence at New York University. A former president of PEN American Center, Rushdie was knighted in 2007 for services to literature.

Photo: © Randall Slavin

Salman Rushdie

Books by Salman Rushdie

by Salman Rushdie - Fiction, Young Adult 12+

This stand-alone sequel to HAROUN AND THE SEA OF STORIES tells the tall tale of 12-year-old Luka in the Nether World, a fantastical realm once visited by his brother, Haroun. Luka is on a quest to rescue his dying father from perpetual sleep and faces nine impossible challenges, all of which must be overcome if he is to steal the Fire of Life.