Skip to main content

More Reviews

Hardcover: August 1, 2016

It is Clara who is desperate to enter the labyrinth and it is Clara who is bright, strong and fearless enough to take on any challenge. It is no surprise when she is chosen. But so is the girl who has always lived in her shadow. Together they enter. Within minutes, they are torn apart forever. Now the girl who has never left the city walls must fight to survive in a living nightmare, where one false turn with who to trust means a certain dead end.

All We Have Left by Wendy Mills - Historical Fiction
Hardcover: August 9, 2016

Sixteen-year-old Jesse is used to living with the echoes of the past. Her older brother died in the September 11th attacks, and her dad since has filled their home with anger and grief. When Jesse gets caught up with the wrong crowd, one momentary hate-fueled decision turns her life upside down. The only way to make amends is to face the past, starting Jesse on a journey that will reveal the truth about how her brother died. In 2001, 16-year-old Alia is proud to be Muslim. After being grounded for a stupid mistake, Alia decides to confront her father at his Manhattan office. When the planes collide into the Twin Towers, Alia is trapped inside one of the buildings. In the final hours, she meets a boy who will change everything for her as the flames rage around them...

Hardcover: August 2, 2016
Lana used to know what was real. That was before, when her life was small and quiet. Her golden stepbrother, Ben was alive. She could only dream about bonfiring with the populars. Their wooded island home was idyllic, she could tell truth from lies and Ben’s childhood stories were firmly in her imagination. Then came after. After has Lana boldly kissing her crush, jumping into the water from too high up, living with nerve and mischief. But after also has horrors, deaths that only make sense in fairy tales and terrors from a past Lana thought long forgotten. 
Hardcover: August 16, 2016
In this thrilling sequel to World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott's captivating young adult debut, a girl immersed in high-stakes competition holds the fate of a kingdom in her hands. Now a Challenger, Jessamy is moving up the ranks of the Fives --- the complex athletic contest favored by the lowliest Commoners and the loftiest Patrons alike. Pitted against far more formidable adversaries, success is Jes's only option, as her prize money is essential to keeping her hidden family alive. She leaps at the chance to tour the countryside and face more competitors, but then a fatal attack on her traveling party puts Jes at the center of the war that Lord Kalliarkos --- the prince she still loves --- is fighting against their country's enemies. 
Three Truths and a Lie by Brent Hartinger - Psychological Thriller/Mystery
Hardcover: August 2, 2016

Deep in the forest, four friends gather for a weekend of fun. Truth #1: Rob is thrilled about the weekend trip. It’s the perfect time for him to break out of his shell…to be the person he really wants to be. Truth #2: Liam, Rob’s boyfriend, is nothing short of perfect. He’s everything Rob could have wanted. They’re perfect together. Truth #3: Mia has been Liam’s best friend for years…long before Rob came along. They get each other in a way Rob could never, and will never, understand. Truth #4: Galen, Mia’s boyfriend, is sweet, handsome and incredibly charming. He’s the definition of a Golden Boy…even with the secrets up his sleeve. One of these truths is a lie…and not everyone will live to find out which one it is.

Running Girl by Simon Mason - Mystery/Thriller
Hardcover: August 30, 2016

Meet Garvie Smith. Highest IQ ever recorded at Marsh Academy. Lowest ever grades. What's the point? Life sucks. Nothing surprising ever happens. Until Chloe Dow's body is pulled from a pond. Garvie's ex-girlfriend. Inspector Singh is already on the case. Ambitious, uptight, methodical, he's determined to solve the mystery--and get promoted. He doesn't need any "assistance" from a notorious slacker.

Hardcover: August 1, 2016

Chelsea Duvay is so many things. Shes an avid musical lover, shes a gifted singer and she has the most perfect, beautiful feet. But no one ever notices that. All they notice is Chelseas weight. Daily, Chelsea endures endless comments about her appearance from well-meaning adults and cruel classmates. So she keeps to herself and just tries to make it through. Dont make waves. Dont draw attention. Thats how life is for Chelsea until a special class project pushes the energetic and incessantly social Melody into Chelseas world. As their unlikely friendship grows, Chelsea emerges from her isolated existence and she begins to find the confidence to enjoy life. 

Wax by Gina Damico - Fiction
Hardcover: August 2, 2016
Paraffin, Vermont, is home to the Grosholtz Candle Factory. There, seventeen-year-old Poppy finds something dark and unsettling: a room filled with dozens of startlingly lifelike wax sculptures. Later, she’s shocked when one of the figures --- a teenage boy who doesn’t seem to know what he is --- jumps naked and screaming out of the trunk of her car. Poppy wants to return him to the factory, but before she can, a fire destroys the mysterious workshop. With the help of the wax boy, who answers to the name Dud, Poppy tries to find out who was behind the fire. Along the way, she discovers that some of the townspeople are starting to look a little...waxy. Can they extinguish the evil plot? 
Hardcover: August 30, 2016
Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that’s perfect for fans of Julie Murphy’s DUMPLIN’ and Becky Albertalli’s SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA. Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.
Paperback: August 2, 2016

Finley is used to being the glue that holds everyone together but that isn't landing her the high paying modeling jobs, which are what Finley needs if she is going to reopen her mother's dance studio. Enter Eddie. He's intense, driven and he completely charms Finley. The last thing she wants is another commitment, but when she's with Eddie, their chemistry takes over and she can let go of her responsibilities and just be. Except Eddie is hiding a secret. And when it surfaces, he and Finley are going to have to choose between their love for each other and everything else...