Skip to main content

More Reviews

Twisted by Hannah Jayne - Suspense/Thriller
Paperback: July 5, 2016

Bex has always been her daddy's little girl. After her mother left, it was just the two of them. Sure he spoiled her with clothes and jewelry, but what father doesn't dote on his daughter? Except Bex's dad is alleged to be a notorious serial killer. Dubbed "The Wife Collector" by the press, her father disappeared before he could stand trial. And Bex was left to deal with the taunts and rumors. Foster care is her one chance at starting over, starting fresh. When bodies start turning up in her new hometown, the police want to use her as bait to bring her father in for questioning.

The Season by - Young Adult Romance
Hardcover: July 12, 2016

Megan McKnight is an expert at the three Rs of Texas (readin’, ridin’ and ropin’), but she’s not a girly girl. So when her Southern belle mother secretly enters her as a debutante, she’s furious. When Megan’s attitude puts her on probation, she has a month to prove she can ballroom dance, display impeccable manners and curtsy or she’ll disgrace her family. The perk of being a debutante is going to parties, and it’s at one of these lavish affairs where Megan meets Hank Waterhouse. If she didn’t have to contend with a backstabbing blonde and her surly boyfriend, being a deb might not be so bad after all. But then Megan becomes embroiled in a media-frenzy scandal and gets punched in the face by another girl. The season has officially begun…but the drama is just getting started.

Hardcover: July 12, 2016
Hasn't he lived long enough? Why not? I could take him like a thief in the night. This is how the Thief thinks. He serves death, the vacuum, the unknown. He's always waiting. Always there. Seventeen-year-old Nina Barrows knows all about the Thief. She's intimately familiar with his hunting methods: how he stalks and kills at random, how he disposes of his victims' bodies in an abandoned mine in the deepest, most desolate part of a desert. Now, for the first time, Nina has the chance to do something about the serial killer that no one else knows exists. With the help of her former best friend, Warren, she tracks the Thief two thousand miles, to his home turf-the deserts of New Mexico. But the man she meets there seems nothing like the brutal sociopath with whom she's had a disturbing connection her whole life.
Hardcover: July 19, 2016
Hunted down by a ruthless “cleaner” from the future, star-crossed lovers Eden and Ryan have been forced to travel a hundred years forward to 2123. Ryan has broken fundamental laws of time for them to be together, and now they face his trial and permanent imprisonment...and a life without each other. Eden knows that she must save Ryan, but he's under tight security. All Eden wants is Ryan, but is it possible to be together when it seems the whole universe is against them? Fans of Claudia Gray, Amie Kaufman, and Meagan Spooner will be swept away by this epic cross-century romance in which love bends the laws of time and reason.
Hardcover: July 5, 2016

Seventeen-year-old Cardinal has escaped the virus that ravaged his town, leaving its victims alive but without their memories. He chooses to remain in the quarantined zone, caring for a group of orphaned kids in a mountain camp with the help of the former brutal school bully, now transformed by the virus into his best friend. But then a strong-willed and mysterious young woman appears, and the closed-off world Cardinal has created begins to crumble.

Hardcover: July 5, 2016

Ivy used to be on top of the social ladder, until her ex made that all go away. Tyler has always been a bad boy, but lately he’s been running low on second chances. Kinley wouldn’t describe herself as perfect, though everyone else would. Mattie is only in town for the summer. He wasn’t looking to make friends, and he definitely wasn’t looking to be involved in a murder. Cade couldn’t care less about the body, or about the pact to keep the secret. With the police hot on the case, they don’t have much time to figure out how to trust each other.

Hardcover: July 5, 2016

With her mama recently dead and her pa sight unseen since birth, Amelia is suddenly in charge of her younger brother and sister --- and of the family gas station. Harley Blevins, local king and emperor of Standard Oil, is in hot pursuit to clinch his fuel monopoly. To keep him at bay and keep her family out of foster care, Melia must come up with a father --- and fast. And so when a hobo rolls out of a passing truck, Melia grabs opportunity by its beard

Hardcover: July 5, 2016

Sofia is still processing the horrific truth of what happened when she and three friends performed an exorcism that spiraled horribly out of control. Ever since that night, Sofia has been haunted by bloody and demonic visions. Her therapist says they’re all in her head, but to Sofia they feel chillingly real. She just wants to get out of town, start fresh someplace else...until her mother dies suddenly, and Sofia gets her wish.

Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally - Young Adult Romance
Paperback: July 5, 2016

Taylor's always pushed herself to be perfect. But one impulsive decision --- one lie to cover for her boyfriend --- and Taylor's kicked out of private school. Everything she's worked so hard for is gone, and now she's starting over at Hundred Oaks High. Soccer has always been Taylor's escape, but it's hard to fit in and play on a team that used to be her rival. The only person who seems to understand all that she's going through is her older brother's best friend, Ezra. Taylor's had a crush on him for as long as she can remember. But it's hard to trust after having been betrayed.

Hardcover: July 5, 2016
Sammie McCoy is a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get out of her small town as soon as possible. Nothing will stand in her way --- not even the rare genetic disorder the doctors say will slowly steal her memories and then her health. So the memory book is born: a journal written to Sammie’s future self, so she can remember everything from where she stashed her study guides to just how great it feels to have a best friend again. It’s where she’ll record every perfect detail of her first date with longtime-crush Stuart, and where she’ll admit how much she’s missed her childhood friend Cooper and the ridiculous lengths he will go to make her laugh.