Skip to main content

Defy the Stars

Review

Defy the Stars

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Firebird and Evernight seriescomes DEFY THE STARS --- the first in a new thrilling space-based, sci-fi series.Claudia Gray delivers a gripping tale about two unexpected allies in an intergalactic war.

Noemi Vidal is a soldier. Sworn to protect her planet, Genesis, she would risk everything, including her own life, to defend her home from Earth.

Abel is a mech. Once a machine devoted to serving his creator, one of Earth’s greatest scientists, he has now spent the past 30 years abandoned in space, utterly alone --- that is, until Noemi stumbles upon him.

"With its beautifully crafted world, complex characters, and enthralling plot, DEFY THE STARS is perfect for fans of ILLUMINAE, THE DIABOLIC, and sci-fi lovers all around. Claudia Gray has stunned me."

Both are sworn enemies in an interstellar war; however, they begrudgingly begin to work together in order to obtain an item that might just put an end to the war between their two planets. With no time to spare, they embark on a journey throughout the stars, where they will have to maneuver their way through space while also being hunted down by various enemies. As they delve deeper into different galaxies, both learn that the stakes are even higher than they originally thought, that a sacrifice will be needed to accomplish their goal, and that everything they have ever known may just be a complete lie.

When I first heard about DEFY THE STARS, I instantly thought it had an intriguing premise that could be executed either amazingly or terribly. I am glad to say that it has exceeded all of my expectations and has taken its place on my list of favorite sci-fi novels.

The novel begins quickly, and by the end of the first chapter, readers are thrown into an intergalactic space battle. There were truly no dull moments throughout the novel as Gray always kept me on the edge of my seat and constantly raised the stakes. I applaud Gray for how perfectly structured and paced the story was, as everything about it just felt so well-written.

By far, two of the most memorable things about this book for me were the fascinating universe and future which Gray has crafted. DEFY THE STARS is set in a future where Earth has run out of resources and is in a state of complete disarray. The people of Earth have set their sights on conquering Noemi’s planet, Genesis, so that they can colonize it --- just like they’ve done to multiple other planets, which they have ruined as well. Gray sets up an intriguing history --- or rather, future --- of the universe that I would love to hear more about. Additionally, as Noemi and Abel trek across the universe, they visit various exciting planets that are full of questionable people and things to do. I really hope that Gray will explore the universe even more in future books, because it truly was a highlight for me.

The character development and relationship building throughout this novel was amazing. Each of the main protagonists, Noemi and Abel, discovered so much about themselves and by the end of story, I felt that I had connected with each character. Noemi was a strong, determined and diverse female lead, who I honestly empathized with, while Abel was one of the nicest and most likable characters that I have ever read about. I really don’t know how anyone could not adore these characters by the end of the novel. Noemi and Abel’s relationship starts off pretty rocky due to the fact that their planets are sworn enemies after all; however, Gray manages to throw together these two completely different people to develop an intriguing and captivating relationship that I could not get enough of.

With its beautifully crafted world, complex characters, and enthralling plot, DEFY THE STARS is perfect for fans of ILLUMINAE, THE DIABOLIC, and sci-fi lovers all around. Claudia Gray has stunned me with how mesmerizing DEFY THE STARS is, and I will definitely be counting down the days until the next book.

Reviewed by Makayla H., Teen Board Member on May 3, 2017

Defy the Stars
by Claudia Gray