Skip to main content

Friday Never Leaving

Review

Friday Never Leaving

Friday Brown is not your average teenager. While her long brown hair and dirty feet may deceive many, she lives a life that most cannot compare to; and the only way she knows how to tell her own story is through the tales her mother shares with her. Having moved across the country time and time again due to her mom’s personal struggles, she thought she knew what life was all about. Running barefoot through streets, calling her mom ‘Vivienne’ (because she refuses the typical title) and listening to the stories about her ancestors, Friday has a routine that she is content with. Until Vivienne is diagnosed with cancer and dies.

"Friday Brown may have left many places throughout her lifetime, but Wakefield’s fantastic story is never leaving me."

Now, she has no idea what to do with her life. She refuses to stay with her grandfather, despite the fact that he is her only living relative. Instead, Friday decides to start anew, and goes out in search of her birth father. This leads to an adventure she never could’ve imagined, despite the tales she has been told. At the local train station, she meets a boy named Silence, who is just as intriguing as the name he goes by. From there, Silence takes Friday to an abandoned house, where she meets the other "street kids," and her perspective on life changes drastically.

Originally published in Australia, FRIDAY NEVER LEAVING is a book everyone should read in order to experience walking a mile in another person’s shoes. Author Vikki Wakefield is astonishing in creating so many unique individuals in the span of 322 short pages. While Friday is the main character, it is Silence who shines --- although he doesn't command this attention with his voice. His backstory will change your view of the “quiet kid” and give a detailed understanding as to why some people run away from the only place they’ve ever known. Although the end may seem unsatisfying at first, it is the perfect ending for a girl who has never stayed in one place too long. This novel will leave you thankful for the roof over your head, the clean shirt on your back and the family that surrounds you.

Friday Brown may have left many places throughout her lifetime, but Wakefield’s fantastic story is never leaving me. This book is for fans of Libba Bray and Martine Leavitt.

Reviewed by Lucy P. on September 16, 2013

Friday Never Leaving
by Vikki Wakefield

  • Publication Date: September 10, 2013
  • Genres: Family, Fiction, Young Adult 14+
  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
  • ISBN-10: 144248652X
  • ISBN-13: 9781442486522