Skip to main content

More Than This

Review

More Than This

The novel, MORE THAN THIS by Patrick Ness, begins with the death of the protagonist, Seth. It does seem a bit counterproductive if he's going to be the main character, right?  Wrong. Seth wakes naked, hungry, parched, tired, alone. After he has clearly deceased, he is confused by his surroundings, which strangely resemble his childhood home in England. His first thought is that he's in his own little "personal hell," especially because every time he closes his eyes, he sees and feels painfully real memories as if he were experiencing them all over again. Throughout the story, he encounters pieces of his past and begins to create a new future all at once.
"Although MORE THAN THIS is a challenging read due to it's vague nature, it is an extremely fulfilling one that carries significant psychological meaning."
The story that follows is a mysterious one with hints of dystopia and fantasy mixed in. However, the way you perceive the events of the book as a reader is crucial to the resolution and conclusions you can draw. As you catch glimpses of Seth's past life and piece them together with the events occurring after his death, you begin to grow closer to him and understand his character. The novel is ambiguous in a way that forces the reader to consider all possibilities and reflect on their own life. 
 
Although MORE THAN THIS is a challenging read due to it's vague nature, it is an extremely fulfilling one that carries significant psychological meaning. It would not be a book I would recommend to a hesitant reader, as it is a fast read but requires a lot of mental processing. Readers looking for a book with relatable scenarios, but also an air of mystery, would love the novel. It would be a wonderful read for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES, DIVERGENT, UGLIES and other books of the sort who may be looking for a new take on dystopia. Personally, I really enjoyed MORE THAN THIS and would say that it has earned itself a spot among my favorites.

Reviewed by Alex R. on September 16, 2013

More Than This
by Patrick Ness

  • Publication Date: July 22, 2014
  • Genres: Young Adult 14+
  • Paperback: pages
  • Publisher: Candlewick
  • ISBN-10: 0763676209
  • ISBN-13: 9780763676209