Skip to main content

Scarlet: Book Two in the Lunar Chronicles

About the Book

Scarlet: Book Two in the Lunar Chronicles

"A sparkling, unabashedly feminist debut." —Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review
"A perfect match for fans of Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl." —Booklist

Cross Veronica Mars with MTV's Daria, and you’ll get Scarlett Epstein, the snarky, judgmental and often hilarious star of SCARLETT EPSTEIN HATES IT HERE, a witty and heartwarming novel that’s perfect for fans of David Arnold’s MOSQUITOLAND and Kody Keplinger’s THE DUFF.
 
Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online community of fanfiction writers, world-class nobody at Melville High. Her best (read: only) IRL friends are Avery, a painfully shy and annoyingly attractive bookworm, and Ruth, her pot-smoking, possibly insane 73-year-old neighbor.
 
When Scarlett’s beloved TV show is canceled and her longtime crush, Gideon, is sucked out of her orbit and into the dark and distant world of Populars, Scarlett turns to the fanfic message boards for comfort. This time, though, her subjects aren’t the swoon-worthy stars of her fave series --- they’re the real-life kids from her high school. Scarlett never considers what might happen if they were to find out what she truly thinks about them...until a dramatic series of events exposes a very different reality than Scarlett's stories, forever transforming her approach to relationships --- both online and off.

Scarlet: Book Two in the Lunar Chronicles
(The Lunar Chronicles #2)
by Marissa Meyer