Skip to main content

Waste of Space

Review

Waste of Space

Gina Damico, the author of the Croak trilogy, is back with a new standalone novel: WASTE OF SPACE. What if you took 10 insanely attractive teenagers into a fake spaceship and broadcasted it in a “Keeping up with the Kardashians”-style television program? I would watch it, and I’m sure many others would too. WASTE OF SPACE tells a fresh story, one that may seem silly at first glance but is really compelling.

"Damico’s voice shines through this novel, creeping in the tiniest of details, infiltrating even in the most mundane of situations."

TV host and show creator Chazz Young is like TMZ’s Perez Hilton: glamorous but definitely crazy. In WASTE OF SPACE, he enlists the help of NASAW (no, not NASA, it’s NASAW: National Association for the Study of Astronomy and Weightlessness) to build a schematically correct spaceship for television’s craziest reality show.

My favorite character is probably Kaoru, the lost foreigner who is in on the situation; while everyone believes they’re in space, he immediately catches onto the situation, which makes for highly entertaining content.

This book is definitely cheesy and full of moments that will have you questioning why you picked it up in the first place, but it works. You have to take this story with a grain of salt; don’t worry too much about the absurdity of the whole story, embrace the craziness of it all and get ready for a wild ride! Damico’s voice shines through this novel, creeping in the tiniest of details, infiltrating even in the most mundane of situations. It’s a piece of satire --- a great one I may add --- but it just wasn’t for me. I understand the point that Damico was trying to make: society is ridiculous and our popular culture is ridiculous, so let’s poke some fun at it and get a few laughs out of the whole thing. She does this perfectly. This was my first time reading a novel that actually mixed sci-fi with satire, and it was hilarious.

The book progressively intensified as it continued, heightening tension and building up to a grand finale. There was something missing, though, something that makes a regular book a great book: a hard-hitting plot. It’s not that there was no plot at all, but I felt like the entire book was filler, full of conversations that I didn’t really care for, since many of the characters felt cold and too quickly introduced for my taste. It didn’t work for me, but it doesn’t mean it may not appeal to you; what I found to be too quick an introduction may as well have been adequate time for another.

I recommend this book for those who want to have good laugh. In WASTE OF SPACE’s 400 pages, Damico does an amazing job at creating an outrageous fictional world that intelligently reflects our own. Fans of ACROSS THE UNIVERSE and BEAUTY QUEENS will enjoy this novel.

Reviewed by Rachel D., Teen Board Member on July 28, 2017

Waste of Space
by Gina Damico