Skip to main content

Cynthia Hand

Biography

Cynthia Hand

Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of the Unearthly trilogy. A native of southeastern Idaho, she has graduate degrees in creative writing from Boise State University and the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. For the past seven years, she has taught writing at Pepperdine University in Southern California. She and her family have recently moved back to Idaho, where they are enjoying the fresh air.

Cynthia Hand

Books by Cynthia Hand

by Cynthia Hand - Family, Fiction, Paranormal, Young Adult 14+
On Christmas Eve five years ago, seventeen-year-old Holly Chase was visited by three Ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she’d become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways. She didn’t. And then she died. Now she’s stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge --- as their latest Ghost of Christmas Past. So far, Holly’s afterlife has been miserable. But this year’s Scrooge is different. This year’s Scrooge might change everything…
by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, Romance, Young Adult 14+

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times bestselling MY LADY JANE are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre --- a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of THE PRINCESS BRIDE or A GENTLEMEN'S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE. You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester --- and, Reader, she marries him. Or does she?

by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows - Fiction, Historical Fiction, Young Adult 13+
The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In MY LADY JANE, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of THE PRINCESS BRIDE, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed and only a passing resemblance to actual history --- because sometimes history needs a little help. At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England. Like that could go wrong.
by Cynthia Hand - Fiction, Young Adult 13+

Since her brother, Tyler, committed suicide, Lex has been trying to keep her grief locked away and to forget about what happened that night. But as she starts putting her life, her family and her friendships back together, Lex is haunted by a secret she hasn't told anyone --- a text Tyler sent that could have changed everything.

by Cynthia Hand - Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult 13+

As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he's not the only one...With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfill her destiny. But it won't come without sacrifices and betrayal.

by Cynthia Hand - Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult 13+

In this sequel to UNEARTHLY, Clara Gardner is torn between her love for Tucker and her complicated feelings about the roles she and Christian seem destined to play. And she is shocked to learn that someone she loves will die in a matter of months. 

by Cynthia Hand - Fiction, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult 13+

Clara Gardner has recently learned that she’s part angel, and she has to figure out what she was put on this earth to do. Her visions of a raging forest fire lead her to a new school and an intense love triangle, but her elusive destiny awaits her.