Skip to main content


February 20, 2018

Watch the Trailer for WHAT THE NIGHT SINGS by Vesper Stamper

Posted by Rebecca M

Perfect for fans of Markus Zusak, John Boyne, Ruta Sepytus and Elizabeth Wein, WHAT THE NIGHT SINGS is a unique, fully illustrated young adult novel that delves into the seldom told story of life after the concentration camps, and one teen’s journey to rebuild her life after being stripped of everything --- her parents, her music, her identity. In this post, we're giving our readers a first look at this stunning debut with the premiere of the book trailer.


After losing her family and everything she knew in the Nazi concentration camps, Gerta is finally liberated, only to find herself completely alone. Without her Papa, her music, or even her true identity, she must move past the task of surviving and onto living her life. In the displaced persons camp where she is staying, Gerta meets Lev, a fellow teen survivor who she just might be falling for, despite her feelings for someone else. With a newfound Jewish identity she never knew she had, and a return to the life of music she thought she lost forever, Gerta must choose how to build a new future.