Skip to main content

Blog

February 20, 2018

Watch the Trailer for WHAT THE NIGHT SINGS by Vesper Stamper

Posted by Rebecca M
Tagged:
Perfect for fans of Markus Zusak, John Boyne, Ruta Sepytus and Elizabeth Wein, WHAT THE NIGHT SINGS is a unique, fully illustrated young adult novel that delves into the seldom told story of life after the concentration camps, and one teen’s journey to rebuild her life after being stripped of everything --- her parents, her music, her identity. In this post, we're giving our readers a first look at this stunning debut with the premiere of the book trailer.
February 12, 2018

The 2018 ALA Youth Media Awards

Posted by Rebecca M
Tagged:
Today is one of the biggest days of the year for young adult and children's literature: the announcement of the ALA Youth Media Awards. Each year the American Library Association honors the books, videos and other outstanding works that have released that year for kids and teens and are recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent. We've compiled all of the young adult awards announcements here, so read on to see which of your favorites made the cut and click here to see the children's awards announcements!
Quick, what's a booklover's favorite place? If you guessed the library, you're right! With free books, cozy reading spots and pages upon pages of adventure, love and thrills, what could be better? In Brenda Drake's Library Jumpers series, teenage Gia and her friends uncover a magical book that allows her and her friends to travel between different libraries --- all while battling an evil wizard and her feelings for Arik, a fellow jumper. In this post, Drake shares some of her favorite libraries with us!
As my time in high school comes to a close, I have been looking back on these four years and thinking about what I have done and where I am going. Something that stands out is the lack of connection between the high school life I read about in books and the reality of high school. There are so many things in high school that are not truthfully represented in books.
One of the most important aspect of a novel is the setting: whether real or imagined, the setting must be crafted so expertly that the reader feels as though they are either visiting a new place for the first time or returning to someplace safe and familiar. While it is definitely difficult to create an entire world out of thin air, it is equally difficult to take a world readers know and flip it on its head. In this post, author Amber Hart explains how a visit to a swamp inspired the setting for her latest novel, WICKED CHARM.
In Lynn Slaughter's newest book, IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN YOU, teenage Clara is still struggling to deal with the murder of her twin sister, which occurred five months ago. Amidst the newfound and unwanted attention, the only thing keeping her sane is ghostwriting her school newspaper's advice column. But when she begins to receive threatening emails, it becomes clear that someone blames her for her sister's death. Now she must clear her name and solve her sister's murder before it's too late. In celebration of the novel's release, we are sharing an exclusive excerpt below. Read on to see where you can find other excerpts of this thrilling book!
One of the most popular resolutions people make at the start of every new year is to eat healthier and maybe hit the gym once or twice. But what do you do when your new favorite book ends on a cliffhanger or your OTP goes in separate directions? Your first instinct may be to break out the chocolate bars, but food blogger Lindsey Smith has some other ideas. In EAT YOUR FEELINGS, Lindsey looks at ways to eat healthy food based on what people tend to crave the most during heightened emotional states. In this post, you can find one of her favorite recipes that is shared in the book.
When you're a writer, there's nothing more difficult --- or rewarding --- than finishing the first draft of a novel. You may think that a book's journey is over here, but then comes the editing and revising stage. While authors improve their skills with each and every draft, writing a book never really gets easier, especially as you become more and more imaginitive. In this post, author Erica Cameron tells us about the toughest book she ever wrote, which happens to be her most recent, SEA OF STRANGERS.
While mingling with your favorite authors and seeing all the latest books is awesome enough, imagine doing all of that and more in sunny MiamI! This year, Teen Board Member Rachel D. was on location in balmy Florida for the Miami Book Fair and she was kind enough to report back for us. The highlight of her experience was getting to interview New York Times-bestselling author Kwame Alexander; Rachel also reviewed his most recent book, SOLO, for us when it released. Read part three of their powerful interview below!
Sometimes inspiration can hit you in the most unexpected places. For Martin Niewood, author of FORGOTTEN VIOLETS, inspiration struck in a paralyzing nightmare. This nightmare was just the beginning of his process in creating an entire world that he calls the Domain. As an indie author, Martin has learned a lot about what publishing. Through his experience, he has learned five valuable lessons that he wants to share with our readers!