Skip to main content

Bloodwitch: A Witchlands Novel

Review

Bloodwitch: A Witchlands Novel

Susan Dennard’s ever-expanding and dynamic Witchlands series has released a new installment, and one just as epic as its predecessors: BLOODWITCH. Picking up where the sequel left off, the spotlight is now directed towards Aeduan alongside the amazing ensemble cast. The Bloodwitch is now grouped with the Threadwitch Iseult and a magical girl named Owl. Meanwhile, the other characters are spread amidst this incredible world full of new-to-discover settings and people to meet.

"Dennard does a fabulous job at thrusting the readers into a fast-paced, high-energy plot....with all the action-packed scenes and characters with chemistry so strong it’s as if your fingers spark as they turn the page."

As always, Dennard does a fabulous job at thrusting the readers into a fast-paced, high-energy plot that keeps you hooked until the very last word. BLOODWITCH was definitely no exception to this rule with all the action-packed scenes and characters with chemistry so strong it’s as if your fingers spark as they turn the page. This especially goes for moments between the two main characters in this installment, Iseult and Aeduan. The tension between the two is breathtaking and is so addicting to read about! I couldn’t help but hold on to every word they exchanged and craved to read about them during chapters following other characters.

With that said, having chapters following different cast members can also be a bit frustrating when all you want to read from are the one’s you’re mainly invested in. However, Dennard’s leads are always on intriguing missions and there is really never a dull moment within her stories. It does help that the people themselves are extremely witty and lovable, and one’s I wish I could be friends with in real life. Their friendships are actual goals and I am absolutely obsessed with all the complex relationships between them.

As for the plot, so much occurs that keeps the readers on the edge of their seats. Interrogations, betrayals, explosions, poisoned arrows, races through forests --- nothing’s left out! Dennard morphs these actions alongside beautiful landscapes and cultured cities; images she has described so precisely you can’t help but picture right in front of you. The world-building in this series is never-ending which only proves how much can be done with it and all that there is to look forward to.

TheWitchlands serieskeeps proving time and time again how lively and addicting each installment is. Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or even the Game of Thrones series, these books will put you in a world you won’t ever want to escape.

Reviewed by Taylor Friedlander on February 13, 2019

Bloodwitch: A Witchlands Novel
by Susan Dennard

  • Publication Date: February 12, 2019
  • Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Magic, Young Adult 13+
  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Teen
  • ISBN-10: 0765379325
  • ISBN-13: 9780765379320