Skip to main content

Buzz Kill

Review

Buzz Kill

BUZZKILL is a crime-solving mystery written by the best-selling author Beth Fantaskey. Some of Fantaskey’s other books include JESSICA’S GUIDE TO DATING ON THE DARK SIDE, JESSICA RULES THE DARK SIDE and JEKEL LOVES HYDE. The author currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and her three daughters.

BUZZKILL features Millie Ostermeyer, a 17-year-old who loves to write and read Nancy Drew novels. Millie hates sports, especially football, but she suspects some foul play happening at her high school. She starts to write a list of people that despise Coach Killdare and she eventually comes up with a genuine murder mystery on her hands. Once she realizes something has gone awry at school, she gets out her notebook and begins reporting.

Reading BUZZKILL is like playing an intense game of Clue; there are surprises around every corner.

Chase Albright is the star football jock. He is almost fluent in French, a straight A student, and very close with Coach Killdare. Millie has a huge crush on Chase, but she puts her feelings aside after she sees him regularly visiting Coach Killdare’s home. She believes that he may be one of the suspects in this murder mystery she is trying to crack. But, there is a huge bump in the road for Millie --- the head cheerleader Vivienne Fitch is on to this case as well, and she isn’t backing down. The race is on; Millie and Viv go head-to-head and they will do anything to solve this gruesome murder mystery, even if that means putting their own lives on the line.

This book is perfect for fans of NANCY DREW, HARRIET THE SPY, and even Poe’s tales. Fantaskey has you continuously guessing on who the culprit is while leaving you with deadly cliffhangers at the end of each chapter. BUZZKILL is suitable for teens 13 years old and up. Reading BUZZKILL is like playing an intense game of Clue; there are surprises around every corner. So make sure you have your notebook handy!

Reviewed by Sheena Kowalski on May 7, 2014

Buzz Kill
by Beth Fantaskey

  • Publication Date: May 6, 2014
  • Genres: Suspense
  • Hardcover: 368 pages
  • Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
  • ISBN-10: 0547393105
  • ISBN-13: 9780547393100