Skip to main content

Destiny's Path: Warrior Princess, Book Two


Destiny's Path: Warrior Princess, Book Two

Fifteen-year-old Princess Branwen’s life has turned completely upside down. In a short time, her brother was murdered by warring Saxon invaders, thus forcing Branwen to leave her village for her own safety. On the road to a supposed sanctuary, Branwen learned of her true fate: not one of a sheltered and lucrative marriage, but a destiny of courage, survival and protector.

Coming face to face with the old gods called the Shinning Ones --- long rumored to be deep asleep or even fictitious --- shocked Branwen to her core. The one called Rhiannon of the Spring tells her that she is the Chosen One and destined to be a warrior. It is up to Branwen to free her people from the invading Saxons. Branwen is torn, feeling she doesn’t have what it takes to do what the Shinning Ones expect of her. On the other hand, many people are depending on her. She dug up the courage to return to her home and faced the murdering Saxons with her family. And though they fought the Saxons off that time, her father was killed in the battle.

Now, Branwen and her faithful friend, Rhodri, attempt to continue the quest assigned by the Shinning Ones. But as time passes without any guidance or signs, Branwen begins to lose hope and faith that she is this great warrior. She decides to ignore the gods and turns back for home. However, a Shinning One called Govannon of the Wood steps in to stop her. He tells her of the next direction in her destiny and provides them with two traveling companions to guide them.

One is their friend Fain, the falcon who has helped in the past. The other is Blodwedd, a brave and wise owl temporarily transformed into a human shape. Blodwedd, desperate to be an owl again, is a somewhat reluctant assistant at first, but Govannon won’t return her to her original form until Branwen completes her destiny. In the meantime, she must learn how to function as a human being. This small band of misfits is the only hope in saving many lives, so Branwen swallows her doubts and turns to face the next step in her destiny as a Warrior Princess.

Right from page one, Frewin Jones struts his memorable writing style that whispers strength, classic elegance and beautiful rhythm, all without distracting from the exciting story. He paints an exquisite picture with his colorfully detailed descriptions, giving life to the pages, and creates memorable characters who quickly warm readers’ hearts. They include the strong and brave Branwen, who has self-doubt and fear just like everyone else; the kind-hearted Rhodri, not a warrior, but talented in so many other ways; and the cantankerous Blodwedd and her humorous attempts at being human. As for the storyline itself, excitement and adventure fill every page, including sword fights, sneak attacks, rescue missions, traitorous spies, and mere survival amid the chaos of war.

Fans need not worry about approaching the end of this awesome story; the third book in the series, titled THE EMERALD FLAME, is underway.

Reviewed by Chris Shanley-Dillman on September 28, 2010

Destiny's Path: Warrior Princess, Book Two
by Frewin Jones

  • Publication Date: September 28, 2010
  • Genres: Historical Fantasy
  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen
  • ISBN-10: 0060871482
  • ISBN-13: 9780060871482