Skip to main content

If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where's My Prince?

Review

If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where's My Prince?

For
some teens, high school life isn't exactly easy --- especially when
you're "the new kid." Staying silent in class is customary, not
making eye contact in the halls is well-advised, and eating alone
at the lunch table is a given. For many of these less outgoing
newcomers, blending into the background is the safest route to take
in order to avoid calling attention to any differences that might
stick out or invite judgment from the hipper, trendier, cool crowd.
Feeling invisible or lonely is hard to handle in your teenage
years, but being the brunt of the in-crowd's ridicule is
significantly worse --- it's torture.


When sixteen-year-old Lucy Norton and her newly-remarried father
relocate from San Francisco to a posh suburb of Long Island to live
with the new stepfamily, Lucy's life is turned upside down. She is
friendless, virtually homeless (her new "room" consists of an
air-mattress on the floor in an unfurnished basement), and is faced
with the difficult challenge of getting along with her two spoiled,
teeny-bopper younger stepsisters and her impossibly shallow,
constantly redecorating stepmother. On top of that, her once
attentive father has no time for her between his weekly trip back
to the West Coast for work and his newly acquired "perfect" family.
The more time she spends in her new environment, the more Lucy
begins to feel like poor, pathetic Cinderella --- overworked,
under-appreciated, and hopelessly alone.


As in every quintessential fairy tale, however, Lucy's life
suddenly changes for the better. With just one haphazard comment in
the lunchroom about sports, she captures the attention of the
hottest guy in school (the star of the varsity basketball team, of
course), and manages to make two best girlfriends in the process.
From that moment on, her life consists of shopping and gabbing with
the girls; going to "it" upperclassmen parties; making out with
Connor Pearson, her Prom King boyfriend; and working on her
self-portrait in the art room while simultaneously chatting up her
mysterious and talented, but seriously off-putting classmate, Sam
Wolff. Despite constant aggravation from her wicked stepsisters and
evil stepmother, Lucy has transformed herself into the most popular
chick at school in just a few short weeks, and has packed a social
calendar worthy of any classmate's envy. What more could Cinderella
ask for?


But, as Prom approaches and Lucy starts to feel like the time spent
with Connor consists solely of wandering hands and sports talk, the
fairy tale romance that she once believed was possible seems
cracked. Could it be that the connection she had hoped to feel with
Connor might be better suited with someone thoughtful, intelligent
and quirky --- like Sam Wolff? What would everyone say if she broke
up with the jock to date the art freak? Would her much sought-after
and cool reputation survive if disconnected from the popular
group's influence?


With plenty of trendy lingo, girlie gossip, and prom talk to go
around, Melissa Kantor's second novel is a lighthearted and
humorous read, perfect for fans of The Princess Diaries series.
Although a bit predictable at times and maybe a smidgeon too fluffy
to satiate some early teens' tastes, IF I HAVE A WICKED STEPMOTHER,
WHERE'S MY PRINCE? nonetheless delivers enough fun and charm to
make the reading experience a purely enjoyable one.


   -









Reviewed by Alexis Burling on October 18, 2011

If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where's My Prince?
by Melissa Kantor

  • Publication Date: September 1, 2005
  • Genres: Fiction
  • Hardcover: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Hyperion
  • ISBN-10: 0786809604
  • ISBN-13: 9780786809608