Skip to main content

Song of the Dead (Reign of the Fallen)

Review

Song of the Dead (Reign of the Fallen)

SONG OF THE DEAD by Sarah Glenn Marsh is the sequel to REIGN OF THE FALLEN. The series is a duology, and I think that was the right choice. Sarah Glenn Marsh is also the author of FEAR THE DROWNING DEEP and multiple children’s’ picture books.

I read an ARC of REIGN OF THE FALLEN at the end of 2017, right before it came out. I had been intrigued from the moment I discovered it and I ended up loving it. After finishing it, I was immediately crazing SONG OF THE DEAD. Book one ended with a bit of a cliffhanger, and SONG OF THE DEAD starts up not took long after that.

SONG OF THE DEAD follows Odessa as she explores the world beyond Karthia’s borders. One thing I love about the book is how it deals with grief. While the reader is ready for Odessa and Meredy to kiss, Odessa is still mourning. It reminds us that grief takes time, and allows their relationship to grow out of that.

"I really loved Odessa and Meredy’s relationship in this book....If you haven’t picked up this duology, do so as soon as you can!"

One thing I wish the book had was a map. Odessa and Meredy travel so much that I would like to be able to visualize where all they’re going. And while I feel that Odessa’s story is wrapped up, I kind of hope that there’s a companion novel/series, as I would love to spend more time in this world. There are so many interesting places, and I want to explore all of them!

I really loved Odessa and Meredy’s relationship in this book. Dealing with grief for someone incredibly close to you while also falling in love can be hard --- especially in their specific situation --- yet they handle it relatively well. There are some pitfalls, as can be expected, but that’s what happens in a relationship. When one falls, the other is there to pick them back up. From the hardships they’ve endured, I feel like Odessa and Meredy have a relationship built to last.

I had a slight problem with the rest of the characters. Part of my problem is how much time there was between reading the two books, but many of them weren’t memorable to me. I read and loved the first book, and I read and loved this one, but I would get confused in places when a character was referenced that I couldn’t remember for the life of me. I was mostly able to pick back up who was who, but I was confused at points.

The LGBTQ representation in this book was great! Odessa is very clearly bisexual, and I liked that she was confident in her feelings. I also liked non-heterosexual relationships seemed normalized in their world, as they should be in ours.

I don’t want to say too much about this, but there are dog-sized dragons and they are very adorable. Read the book to find out more, but trust me that they are amazing!

This book is probably on the upper level, age-wise, for young adult books. If you’re a fan of YA fantasy in general I highly recommend it! More specifically, I would recommend it for fans of Malinda Lo, AND I DARKEN by Kiersten White, OF FIRE AND STARS by Audrey Coulthurst, TIMEKEEPER by Tara Sim and MASK OF SHADOWS by Linsey Miller. These books all have a similar feel to SONG OF THE DEAD. If you haven’t picked up this duology, do so as soon as you can!

Reviewed by Isabel Coyne on January 29, 2019

Song of the Dead (Reign of the Fallen)
by Sarah Glenn Marsh