Skip to main content

About the Book

About the Book

The Accident Season

For fans of WE WERE LIARS and HOW I LIVE NOW comes a haunting, sexy, magically realistic debut about a famiy caught between a violent history, a taboo romance, and the mysteries lurking in their own backyard.

Every October Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident-prone. Some years it's bad, like the season when her father died, and some years it's just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season --- when Cara, her ex-stepbrother, Sam, and her best friend, Bea, are 17 --- is going to be a bad one. But not for the reasons they think.

Cara is about to learn that not all the scars left by the accident season are physical: There's a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises. This is the year Cara will finally fall desperately in love, when she'll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she'll uncover the dark origins of the accident season --- whether she’s ready or not.

Audiobook available, narrated by Colby Minifie. 

The Accident Season
by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

  • Publication Date: August 2, 2016
  • Genres: Youth Fiction
  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Speak
  • ISBN-10: 014751732X
  • ISBN-13: 9780147517326