Skip to main content

The Edge of Everything

Review

The Edge of Everything

Jeff Giles, former deputy managing editor of Entertainment Weekly, debuts his first YA novel, THE EDGE OF EVERYTHING. The first in a new urban fantasy series, THE EDGE OF EVERYTHING is a fast-paced and thrilling novel with engaging writing that will pull readers into the story instantly.

With the sudden death of her father and the disappearance of her beloved neighbors, Zoe has had a rough year. On one terrifying blizzardy night in the lonesome mountains of Montana, Zoe and her younger brother are forced to brave the weather by themselves. Strange things occur that night, however, when they are brutally attacked by a vicious man. By chance, they are saved by a mysterious and magical bounty hunter that they call X, who has been sent from a hell called the Lowlands to claim the soul of Zoe’s attacker. Soon enough --- against the Lowland’s wishes --- Zoe and X’s fates are intertwined. As Zoe and X begin to grow closer together, they are forced to endure the wrath of the Lowlands which threatens to pull them apart.

"THE EDGE OF EVERYTHING is one of the most memorable and well-written debut novels that I have read in a long time, and I look forward to seeing how Giles’ writing will evolve as he continues to write future books."

From the very first page, I found Giles’ writing gripping, and I was instantly lured into the story. This novel contains chapters that were very long yet fast paced and addictive. Giles manages to keep the story exciting from beginning to end by never having a dull moment.

Zoe and X were both extremely driven and strong characters who knew what they wanted and went after it, which I really admire. Their relationship throughout the book was very cute; however, it was a major case of insta-love. I think that there could have been way more development in their relationship due to the fact that this is the first in a new series and there is plenty of time for relationship development. Nevertheless, it was very easy to root for them as they were both very likeable and interesting people.

One of my favorite things about THE EDGE OF EVERYTHING was the supporting characters. Throughout the novel, Giles crafts many memorable supporting characters, including X’s deadly buddies from the Lowlands as well as Zoe’s normal yet eccentric friends from the real world. Each character had a story of their own and Giles made sure that each character evolved as the story progressed. At times, I found myself wishing that Giles would write a spin-off series about some of the side characters as they were truly intriguing people who deserve more attention.

Even though this is the first in a series, the ending honestly felt somewhat abrupt to me as there isn’t much of a conclusion to the story. Luckily though, Giles has left me pondering the fates of many of my now beloved characters, and I am eager to see how this series continues to unfold.

THE EDGE OF EVERYTHING is one of the most memorable and well-written debut novels that I have read in a long time, and I look forward to seeing how Giles’ writing will evolve as he continues to write future books. Perfect for fans of The Mortal Instruments series as well as contemporary fans looking to dive into the world of fantasy, THE EDGE OF EVERYTHING is a novel that will leave readers yearning for more.

Reviewed by Makayla H., Teen Board Member on January 17, 2017

The Edge of Everything
by Jeff Giles