Skip to main content

The Geek's Guide to Unrequited Love

Review

The Geek's Guide to Unrequited Love

“Fiction is there when real life fails you. But it’s not a substitute” (228), Sarvenaz Tash writes in her hilarious novel, THE GEEK’S GUIDE TO UNREQUITED LOVE. Graham Posner certainly experiences this philosophy when he, a second-generation nerd, tries to confess his love to his best friend (and fellow nerd) Roxana, at the New York Comic Con.

“This book...takes the reader through ComicCon in a very realistic way, full of jokes and humor while waiting in long lines, but at the same time gets a very important message across.”

ComicCon is a huge deal for fans of Marvel, DC Comics, Harry Potter, “Doctor Who,” “Supernatural”…and Graham and Roxy’s favorite comic, The Chronicles of Althena. When they discover that reclusive Robert Zinc, their idol and the creator of Althena, will be showing his face in public for the first time in 20 years to discuss The Chronicles of Althena movie, the two friends simply MUST attend. However, an accented annoyance arrives in the form of Devin, and Graham makes a new friend in Amelia from Speed Dating. When the two best friends’ plan backfires, Graham must struggle to keep Devin away from Roxy, unscramble his emotions about Amelia and deal with his newfound Twitter fame!

One refreshing twist to this novel is that the protagonist with the unrequited crush is male. The clueless object of his affection is the typical friend since childhood. The sidekick offering support but zero practical advice is an equally clueless teenage boy. And the nemesis is a “stud crumpet.” If you aren’t rooting for Graham to get the girl when the term “stud crumpet” appears, you really have no heart.

This book is a perfect insight into the life of fandoms, or Fan Kingdoms. It takes the reader through ComicCon in a very realistic way, full of jokes and humor while waiting in long lines, but at the same time gets a very important message across: FICTION IS NOT REALITY. No matter how well you plan something, like a schedule for attending panels or a weekend in New York, something will go wrong. That’s the way life is. The real world is harsh, true. Sometimes, though, the unexpected and unscheduled brings something quite lovely, and those experiences are not to be missed either. However, when one needs to escape and can’t get to ComicCon, there is that wonderful little landscape of fandom when you open this five-star book.

I would recommend this book to readers aged 12-16. There’s some mild language and an incidence of underage drinking. The romance is very sweet and innocent. Anyone who is part of a fandom will easily enjoy this book and laugh along. There is quite a bit of “fanspeak,” the language of fanboys and fangirls, and you might not understand or be part of some of the fandoms mentioned, but you can still read and get the idea of the book. It is truly a wonderful insight into the life of the fandoms of the world and the next best thing when your parents won’t let you go to ComicCon.

Reviewed by Cat S., Teen Board Member on June 20, 2016

The Geek's Guide to Unrequited Love
by Sarvenaz Tash

  • Publication Date: June 13, 2017
  • Genres: Dating, Fiction, Humor, Social Issues
  • Paperback: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
  • ISBN-10: 1481456547
  • ISBN-13: 9781481456548