Skip to main content

The Great Pursuit

Review

The Great Pursuit

Wendy Higgins is the acclaimed young adult author of numerous novels spanning multiple genres. Before becoming a writer, she was a high school English teacher and currently resides in Virginia. Her first works, the supernatural Sweet series, debuted with SWEET EVIL in 2012 and concluded with SWEET TEMPTATION in 2015. She also published an indie standalone Irish fantasy titled SEE ME. Her newest work for teens, The Eurona Duology, began with THE GREAT HUNT in 2016 and ended with THE GREAT PURSUIT in 2017.

THE GREAT PURSUIT starts soon after book one leaves off. After the beast that plagued Lochlanach is slain by a hunter, a Lashed enemy of the kingdom, Rozaria Rocato, emerges as an even greater danger to the country. Princess Aerity Lochson leaves her kingdom to find Paxton Seabolt, the hunter who captured her heart, but Paxton is forced to play both sides with Rozaria. As the stakes are raised when Aerity must act as an intermittent ruler of her county, Lochlanach must defeat Rozaria, or they will be forced to live in tyranny

"A satisfying ending is precisely what Higgins offers in THE GREAT PURSUIT. I would recommend The Eurona Duology to fantasy readers as well as those who love a prevalent romance element."

Wendy Higgins has been a favorite author of mine for years. I was thrilled by the direction she decided to take with The Eurona Duology, and it truly shows her diverse capabilities as an author. Even though it had been a few years since I read the first book of the series, the writing style and recap embedded in the plot made for a smooth transition to the second installment. The characters were just as caring and kind as I remembered, and the world continues to be reminiscent of the classic YA fantasy worlds that are so loved by readers. Higgins pulls on popular elements but successfully makes them her own.

Princess Aerity has always been a very compelling character, and I continued to appreciate her views which diverged from the traditions of her kingdom. By offering not just Aerity a point of view in the novel but Vixie, Wyneth, Paxton and others, Higgins increased the scope of the story considerably and multiple angles of the plot were visible to the reader. The magic of this series is easy to understand, and there is definitely a forbidden magic trope. Most of the characters are such good people that you cannot help but adore them. I especially was entertained by all of the new romances that sparked in the second book after some obvious romantic tension in the first book.

Ultimately, THE GREAT PURSUIT wrapped up this duology incredibly well, and I had a lot of fun reading it. Even ending at around 500 pages, this sequel contains short chapters and quickly alternating points of view that make the story fly by. A satisfying ending is precisely what Higgins offers in THE GREAT PURSUIT. I would recommend The Eurona Duology to fantasy readers as well as those who love a prevalent romance element. Fans of THE KISS OF DECEPTION, RUINED, and SHADOW AND BONE will likely enjoy this duology.

Reviewed by Grace P., Teen Board Member on April 9, 2018

The Great Pursuit
by Wendy Higgins