Skip to main content

About the Book

About the Book

The Paradox of Vertical Flight

What happens when you put a suicidal 18-year-old philosophy student, his ex-girlfriend, his best friend and his newborn baby in a truck and send them to Grandma's house? This debut novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher and Jay Asher.

On the morning of his 18th birthday, philosophy student and high school senior Jack Polovsky is somewhat seriously thinking of suicide when his cell phone rings. Jack's ex-girlfriend, Jess, has given birth, and Jack is the father. Jack hasn't spoken with Jess in about nine months --- and she wants him to see the baby before he is adopted. The new teenage father kidnaps the baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Wal-Mart and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and the ex-girlfriend. As they head to Grandma's house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates about Homer, Troy, Aristotle, the real Socrates and the Greek myths --- because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. Funny, heart-wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fate, fatherhood and myth.

The Paradox of Vertical Flight
by Emil Ostrovski

  • Publication Date: September 24, 2013
  • Genres: Young Adult 14+
  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • ISBN-10: 0062238523
  • ISBN-13: 9780062238528