Skip to main content

The Silence of Six


The Silence of Six

THE SILENCE OF SIX is the first book in the SOS series by E.C. Myers. The second book, AGAINST ALL SILENCE is expected to be released in February 2017. The novel follows high school student Max Stein, whose high school is chosen to host a presidential debate leading up to the election. The novel begins with Max watching his best friend Evan kill himself through a live video that he hacked into the debate’s system. Max then becomes a target of the FBI because of his attachment to Evan. He becomes obsessed with discovering Evan’s motives and finds himself in a complicated political scheme. Max is forced to turn back to his days of hacking but he finds himself in a situation much more complex than he was ready to handle on his own.

"I highly recommend THE SILENCE OF SIX to anyone looking for a book and a thrill ride in one perfectly executed package."

This book had me hooked from the moment I picked it up. It was exhilarating to read with just the right amounts of suspense and action. There was rarely a dull moment and every chapter left me with the need to learn more. The plot had a ton of hidden details that the reader would almost never imagine connecting. I was shocked by some of the things Max discovers throughout the book and by the way seemingly random pieces of the story unraveled together.

I was also extremely interested in the descriptions of hacking included throughout the book. I could never claim to understand the codes or information, but I was fascinated. Somehow E.C. Myers found a way to keep me interested even when the hacking terms were flying over my head. I never felt stressed because I wasn’t understanding every detail. I only wanted to learn more about the world that the characters all seemed to comprehend perfectly. I really appreciate the thought and research that went into this element of the story. All the details were crafted beautifully and I can only imagine all the hard work that went into making that possible.

The characters were super well-developed. They all carry much more depth with them than their hacker personas may suggest. It was also interesting to see how the characters handled situations and confrontations in real life versus how they approached the same things online. As a frequent user of social media and someone who has a multitude of internet friends, I found that some of the characters’ feelings toward the internet were very relatable. But this book also presented the topic of the power of the internet and its possibly negative implications. This message is something that will stay with the reader long after closing the book. THE SILENCE OF SIX felt particularly relevant to recent events during this election year. This book was published in 2015 so I was particularly intrigued by its similarities to present day politics.

I highly recommend THE SILENCE OF SIX to anyone looking for a book and a thrill ride in one perfectly executed package. I also recommend this book for any readers who are trying to get themselves out of a reading slump. I found that it was super helpful in rekindling my love of reading and pushing me out of a minor slump. This book will keep you on the edge of your seat with every page you read. It is fast-paced, interesting and extremely well planned out.

Reviewed by Danielle F., Teen Board Member on December 21, 2016

The Silence of Six
(SOS Book Series #1)
by E. C. Myers

  • Publication Date: May 24, 2016
  • Genres: Young Adult 13+
  • Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Adaptive Books
  • ISBN-10: 0986448419
  • ISBN-13: 9780986448416