Skip to main content

The Unfortunates

Review

The Unfortunates

THE UNFORTUNATES is the newest release from Kim Liggett. She is also the author of BLOOD AND SALT, HEART AND ASH and THE LAST HARVEST. THE UNFORTUNATES is the story of 17-year-old Grant Tavish, a senator’s son who was involved in a fatal accident. He is quickly consumed by guilt when it becomes clear that his father’s connections will insure that he never faces consequences for the accident. With his graduation trip approaching, Grant plans to stage an accident for himself in a cave system along the Appalachian Trail. However, the system collapses, leaving Grant and four other teens trapped. As they struggle to survive and find a way out, they realize that they aren’t alone down there.

"I have never read a book like THE UNFORTUNATES and I honestly had fun figuring it out and following along with the plot’s mysterious elements."

I was honestly super surprised by this book. It is pitched as being perfect for fans of “Riverdale”and “Pretty Little Liars.” Because of this I went into the book expecting something entirely different than what it is --- ut was definitely a pleasant surprise, though. I have never read a book like THE UNFORTUNATES and I honestly had fun figuring it out and following along with the plot’s mysterious elements. The overall concept of the story is super interesting and has stuck with me since I read the final page. It also incorporates a lot more outdoorsy themes than I expected which was really interesting for me. The climbing trip that Grant goes on is pretty cool to read about and added something new to the typical mystery/horror plot.

THE UNFORTUNATES is a super fast read. It was definitely a suspenseful page turner, which I loved. However, the fast-paced nature of the plot did affect the character development. I felt like there wasn’t enough time throughout the story to become deeply connected to the characters. I definitely think there was so much more to be discovered about the story and characters and wish that the plot dug deeper. Despite this, I did like that it was a fast read because they are the best kind of books for the summertime.

My favorite part of the entire book was the ending. I was blown away by the twist at the end and honestly didn’t see it coming. I obviously don’t want to spoil anything, but if you’re a fan of twist endings and want to be left with the feeling of “how didn’t I see this coming?!” then this is definitely the book for you. The ending really ties the book and Grant’s character together. I felt like it did an amazing job of summing up the plot and also incorporating a coming of age element to Grant’s story. THE UNFORTUNATES is worth reading for the ending alone honestly.

Overall, I enjoyed THE UNFORTUNATES a lot more than I expected I would. It will keep you on the edge of your seat until you discover the final answer to the mystery (and a twist you won’t expect!). I would definitely recommend THE UNFORTUNATES to any fans of mystery and horror novels. I also feel like it is the perfect read for travel/summer as it’s a super fast-paced, easy to get lost in and fun to read!

Reviewed by Danielle F., Teen Board Member on August 1, 2018

The Unfortunates
by Kim Liggett