Skip to main content

Enter to Win One of Five Amazing Prize Packages!

Between now and July 9th, we're giving away 10 amazing YA reads perfect for summer binges!

Return to Sarah J. Maas's Beloved Court!

A COURT OF FROST AND STARLIGHT bridges the events between A COURT OF WINGS AND RUIN and the next books in the series.

Becky Albertalli’s LEAH ON THE OFFBEAT Gives Fans More of Love, Simon’s World

The spinoff focuses on Simon’s best friend, Leah, as she struggles with accepting her sexuality while also navigating their chaotic senior year.

You are Royally Invited to Enjoy Rachel Hawkins' Newest Book

Rachel Hawkins serves up a deliciously royal romance, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick.

Check Out Our May Guy-Brary Bookshelf!

We’re back with our May Guy-Brary update recommending guy-friendly books releasing throughout the month!

ASH PRINCESS by Laura Sebastian is the Story of a Princess Turned Prisoner

With blood on her hands and all hope of reclaiming her throne lost, she realizes that surviving is no longer enough, and she must fight back.

Features and Contests

May Teen Board Question
Here at Teenreads, we know that our Teen Board members are invaluable to us, as they read across a variety of genres and are able to share their love of reading all different kinds of books with us and our readers. This month, we asked our Teen Board members to tell us about their favorite genres in YA and what makes them so special. To help round out their answers, we also asked them to include a few titles that they feel really exemplify their favorite genres. Click here to see part 1 of their answers and check back soon for Part 2.

Ultimate Reading List Monthly Update
One of our most popular features on Teenreads is our Ultimate Reading List, a selection of books that are compelling, beautifully written, pure fun, thought-provoking or edge-of-your-seat gripping --- books that we would hand to someone and say, “Read this!” Here are the titles we've added this month: TRADITION by Brendan Kiely and MOONRISE by Sarah Crossan,

Latest Reviews

Brynn's life has one constant: Rachel Maddow. After writing to Rachel for a school project and actually getting a response, Brynn starts drafting emails to Rachel but never sending them. Brynn tells Rachel about breaking up with her girlfriend, about her brother's death, about her parents, about how she's considering dropping out. Then Brynn is confronted with a dilemma: one student will be allowed to have a voice among the administration in the selection of a new superintendent. When she runs for the position, the knives are out. So she begins to ask herself: What Would Rachel Maddow Do?

Guardian: A Steeplejack Novel by A.J. Hartley - Science Fiction/Steampunk

This is what Ang knows: A dear friend is accused of murdering the Prime Minister of Bar-Selehm. A mysterious but fatal illness is infecting the poor. A fanatical politician seizes power, unleashing a wave of violent repression over the city. This is what Ang must do: Protect her family. Solve a murder. RESIST, no matter what, before it’s too late.

Freshman year at Harvard was the most anticlimactic year of Danny's life. She's failing pre-med and drifting apart from her best friend. One by one, Danny is losing all the underpinnings of her identity. When she finds herself attracted to an older, edgy girl who she met in rehab for an eating disorder, she finally feels like she might be finding a new sense of self. But when tragedy strikes, her self-destructive tendencies come back to haunt her as she struggles to discover who that self really is.

They call her Traitor Kate. It’s a title Kate Brighton inherited from her father after he tried to assassinate the high king of Rime. Cast out of the nobility, Kate now works for the royal courier service. Fortunately, Kate has a secret edge: She is a wilder, born with forbidden magic that allows her to influence the minds of animals. And it’s this magic that leads her to a caravan massacred by drakes in broad daylight --- the only survivor Corwin Tormaine, the son of the king. Her first love, the boy she swore to forget after he condemned her father to death. 

In this genre-defying page-turner from Lygia Day Peñaflor, four teens befriend their favorite YA novelist, only to find their deepest, darkest secrets in the pages of her next book --- with devastating consequences. Told as a series of interviews, journal entries and even pages from the book within the book --- this gripping story of a fictional scandal will keep you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end.

Neverworld Wake by Marisha Pessl - Psychological Suspense

At Darrow-Harker School, Beatrice Hartley and her best friends were the cool kids. Then the shocking death of her boyfriend Jim changed everything. Now, Beatrice is returning to Wincroft --- the seaside estate where they spent so many nights --- hoping she'll get some answers about Jim's death. As the night plays out, Beatrice senses she's never going to know what really happened. Then a mysterious man knocks on the door and announces the impossible: time for them has become stuck, and it can only resume if the former friends make the harshest of decisions. Now Beatrice has one last shot at answers...and at life. And so begins the Neverworld Wake.

In the aftermath of a thwarted alien invasion, teenagers across the globe have begun to develop incredible powers known as Legacies. While most are sent to the Human Garde Academy, countless others slip through the cracks --- either by choice or by force. Desperately wanting to help these lost teens, Six and Sam have joined a covert group tasked with investigating suspicious incidents that might be Legacy-related. The Legacy Chronicles companion series follows them on this mission, and this book collects the first three novellas.

With a sharp tongue and an unruly temper, Sage Fowler is not what they’d call a proper lady --- which is perfectly fine with her. Deemed unfit for a suitable marriage, Sage is apprenticed to a matchmaker and tasked with wrangling other young ladies to be married off for political alliances. She spies on the girls --- and on the soldiers escorting them. As the girls' military escort senses a political uprising, Sage is recruited by a handsome soldier to infiltrate the enemy ranks. The more she discovers as a spy, the less certain she becomes about whom to trust.

Enslaved in Kipchak Khanate, Jinghua has lost everything...until the kingdom is conquered by enemy forces and she finds herself a conspirator in the escape of Prince Khalaf and his father across the vast Mongol Empire. With adversaries on all sides and an endless journey ahead, Jinghua hatches a scheme to return home, a plan that becomes increasingly fraught as her feelings for Khalaf evolve into love. Jinghua’s prospects take a downward turn when Khalaf seeks to restore his kingdom by forging a marriage alliance with the daughter of the Great Khan.

The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo - Contemporary Romance

Clara Shin lives for pranks and disruption. When she takes one joke too far, her dad sentences her to a summer working on his food truck, the KoBra, alongside her uptight classmate Rose Carver. Not the carefree summer Clara had imagined. But maybe Rose isn't so bad. Maybe the boy named Hamlet crushing on her is pretty cute. Maybe Clara actually feels invested in her dad’s business. What if taking this summer seriously means that Clara has to leave her old self behind? 

As a drummer in the hit band The Brightsiders, Emmy’s life should be perfect. But when a night of partying lands Emmy in hospital and her girlfriend in jail, she’s the latest tabloid train wreck. Luckily, Emmy has her friends and bandmates, including the super-swoonworthy Alfie, to help her pick up the pieces of her life. She knows hooking up with a band member is exactly the kind of trouble she should be avoiding, and yet Emmy and Alfie Just. Keep. Kissing. Will the inevitable fallout turn her into a clickbait scandal (again)? Or will she find the strength to stand on her own?