Skip to main content

Secret Agendas Combine with Deadly Consequences in FOUR DEAD QUEENS

In Astrid Scholte's debut, Quadara's most skilled thief becomes entangled in a conspiracy that leaves all four ruling queens dead.

Senior Year Comes with Tough Choices in RAYNE & DELILAH'S MIDNITE MATINEE

Best friends Delia and Josie love hosting their campy creature feature show, but with the end of senior year approaching, they have to face their futures.

THE ART OF LOSING is a Poignant Debut about Love, Addiction and Sisterhood

In Lizzy Mason's book, Harley must confront her feelings about forgiveness and redemption when her sister and boyfriend are injured in a drunken car crash.

Roses Are Red, Violets Are Blue, If You Hurt Us, We're Coming for You

A secret society of girls who plot revenge on the men who hurt them in Colleen Oakes' THE BLACK COATS.

Angie Thomas Returns to Garden Heights with ON THE COME UP

In Angie Thomas' second book, she introduces Bri, a 16-year-old who dreams of being a rapper, but goes viral for all the wrong reasons.

Leigh Bardugo Returns to the Grishaverse with KING OF SCARS

Nikolai has always had a gift for the impossible, but now he must find a way to vanquish the deadly legacy inside him or lose Ravka forever.

Features and Contests

Ultimate Reading List Monthly Update
One of our most popular features on Teenreads is our Ultimate Reading List, a selection of books that are compelling, beautifully written, pure fun, thought-provoking or edge-of-your-seat gripping --- books that we would hand to someone and say, “Read this!” This month, we're adding ON THE COME UP by Angie Thomas; THE GIVER (Graphic Novel) (Giver Quartet) written by Lois Lowry with illustrations by P. Craig Russell; THE WEIGHT OF OUR SKY by Hanna Alkaf; WATCH US RISE by Renée Watson and Ellen Hagan; THE ART OF LOSING by Lizzy Mason; THE WEIGHT OF A THOUSAND FEATHERS by Brian Conaghan; WE SET THE DARK ON FIRE by Tehlor Kay Mejia; and THE MUSIC OF WHAT HAPPENS by Bill Konigsberg.

Latest Reviews

The Girls of Innovations Academy are beautiful and well-behaved --- it says so on their report cards. Under the watchful gaze of their Guardian, they receive a well-rounded education that promises to make them better. Obedient girls, free from arrogance or defiance. Free from troublesome opinions or individual interests. But the girls’ carefully controlled existence may not be quite as it appears. As Mena and her friends uncover the dark secrets of what’s actually happening there --- and who they really are --- the girls of Innovations Academy will learn to fight back.

Pretend She's Here by Luanne Rice - Contemporary Fiction

Emily Lonergan's best friend died last year. And Emily hasn't stopped grieving. Lizzie Porter was lively, loud and fun --- Emily's better half. Emily can't accept that she's gone. When Lizzie's parents and her sister come back to town to visit, Emily's heartened to see them. The Porters understand her pain. They miss Lizzie desperately, too. Desperately enough to do something unthinkable. Suddenly, Emily's life is hurtling toward a very dark place --- and she's not sure she'll ever be able to return to what she once knew was real.

Cold Day in the Sun by Sara Biren - Contemporary Fiction

Holland Delviss wants to be known for her talent as a hockey player, not a hockey player who happens to be a girl. But when her school team is selected to be featured and televised as part of HockeyFest, her status as the only girl on the boys’ team makes her the lead story. Not everyone is thrilled with Holland’s new fame, but there’s one person who fiercely supports her, and it’s the last person she expects (and definitely the last person she should be falling for): her bossy team captain, Wes.

Angel Thieves by Kathi Appelt - Historical Fiction

An ocelot. A slave. An angel thief. Multiple perspectives spanning across time are united through themes of freedom, hope and faith in a most unusual and epic novel from Newbery Honor–winning author and National Book Award finalist Kathi Appelt.

In Paris with You by Clémentine Beauvais - Contemporary Fiction

For fans of ELEANOR & PARK and EMERGENCY CONTACT comes a sweeping romance about the love that got away. Eugene and Tatiana could have fallen in love, if things had gone differently. If they had tried to really know each other, if it had just been them and not the others. But that was years ago and time has found them far apart, leading separate lives. Until they meet again in Paris. What really happened back then? And now? Could they ever be together again after everything?

Riley lives in TropeTown, where everyone plays stock roles in novels. Riley, a Manic Pixie Dream Boy, is sent to group therapy after going off-script. Riley knows that breaking the rules again could get him terminated, yet he feels there must be more to life than recycling the same clichés for readers' entertainment. Then he meets Zelda and falls head over heels in love. Zelda's in therapy too, along with several other Manic Pixies. But TropeTown has a dark secret, and if Riley and his fellow Manic Pixies don't get to the bottom of it, they may all be terminated.

The Quiet You Carry by Nikki Barthelmess - Contemporary Fiction

Victoria knew her dad's behavior toward her was a little unusual, but she convinced herself everything was fine until she found herself locked out of the house at 3:00 a.m., surrounded by flashing police lights. Now, dumped into a crowded, chaotic foster home, Victoria has to tiptoe around her domineering foster mother, get through senior year at a new school and somehow salvage her college dreams...all while keeping her past hidden. All she wants is to move forward, but how do you focus on the future when the past won't leave you alone?

Julia is not your perfect Mexican daughter. That was Olga’s role. Then a tragic accident leaves Olga dead and Julia left behind to reassemble the shattered pieces of her family. And no one seems to acknowledge that Julia is broken, too. It’s not long before Julia discovers that Olga might not have been as perfect as everyone thought. With the help of her best friend, Lorena, and her first love (first everything), Connor, Julia is determined to find out. Was Olga really what she seemed? Or was there more to her sister’s story? 

Beware The Night by Jessika Fleck - Dystopian Fiction

On the island of Bellona, life is peaceful --- as long as the citizens dutifully worship the Sun, which protects them from all harm. Veda knows that keeping the Sun happy will protect her and her grandfather from the Night, the dangerous people who snatch innocent citizens from their beds, never to be seen again. But when Veda's grandfather is offered up as the next sacrificial offering to keep the Sun's favor, she starts to see that safety comes at a dangerous price. Maybe there is more to fear above than there is below. With a mysterious young man, Dorian, at her side, Veda has to figure out if the scary bedtime stories she grew up hearing are real --- or dangerous lies.

Suicide Notes by Michael Thomas Ford - Contemporary Fiction

Fifteen-year-old Jeff wakes up on New Year’s Day to find himself in the hospital --- specifically, in the psychiatric ward. Despite the bandages on his wrists, he’s positive this is all some huge mistake. Jeff is perfectly fine, perfectly normal; not like the other kids in the hospital with him. But over the course of the next 45 days, Jeff begins to understand why he ended up here --- and realizes he has more in common with the other kids than he thought.

Spectacle by Jodie Lynn Zdrok - Historical Fantasy

Nathalie writes a daily morgue column. Her job is to summarize each day’s new arrivals, a task she finds both fascinating and routine. That is, until the day she has a vision of the newest body, a young woman, being murdered. Nathalie's search for answers sends her down a long, twisty road involving her mentally ill aunt, a brilliant but deluded scientist and eventually into the Parisian Catacombs. As a killer haunts the streets of Paris, it becomes clear that Nathalie's strange new ability may make her the only one who can discover the killer’s identity.